Top Newsquest award for 'bold' York Evening Press

York Evening Press editor Liz Page collects her award from Paul Davidson

The Evening Press, York, has won the daily newspaper of the year prize at the Newsquest editorial awards. Judges said that the Evening Press bore all the hallmarks of a newspaper that gets involved.

“Bold, challenging and successful. It stood out among many fine entries. There are more smiling faces in this paper than in any of the others. The writing is uncluttered by cliches and to the point – well done to the reporters and the subs.”

The Basildon Evening Echo was runner up and the South Wales Argus was highly commended.

Journalist of the Year was Emma Clayton of the Telegraph and Argus, Bradford, who was praised for developing “thoughtful, innovative, imaginative and persistent” campaigns for the paper.

The Somerset County Gazette’s Tamsin Jones was runner-up and Mike Amos of The Northern Echo was commended.

The winners were presented with Stourbridge made glassware trophies by chief executive Paul Davidson at an awards lunch in London.

Here is the full list of winners:

Trainee Reporter of the Year: Helen Roberts, South Wales Argus. Runner-up: Lucy Brinicombe, News Shopper.

Feature Writer of the Year: Angela Wintle, The Argus, Brighton. Runner-up: Melanie Warman, Daily Echo, Bournemouth. Commended: Bill Tanner, Hereford Times.

Sports Writer of the Year: Jon Ritson, Evening Advertiser, Swindon. Runner-up: Richard Tilley, The Oxford Times. Commended: Steve Sowden, Yeovil Express.

Weekly Photographer of the Year: Jason Allen, Basingstoke Gazette. Runner-up: Richard Holton, Sale and Altrincham Messenger. Commended: Ray Lloyd, Hereford Times.

Daily Photographer of the Year: Adrian White, South Wales Argus. Runner-up: Aaron St Clair, The Argus, Brighton. Commended: Clive Lawrence, Lancashire EveningTelegraph.

Weekly Designer of the Year: Raj Hegde, News Shopper. Runner-up: David Hall, The Oxford Times. Commended: Andrew Downie and Jonathan Lee, Basingstoke Gazette.

Daily Designer of the Year: Paul Plunkett, Lancashire Evening Telegraph. Runner-up: Angela Harffey, The Argus, Brighton. Commended: Paul Stevens, Daily Echo, Bournemouth.

Weekly News Reporter of the Year: Anita Howells, Hereford Times. Runner-up: Charis Mastris,Basingstoke Gazette.

Daily News Reporter of the Year: Karen Hoy, The Argus, Brighton. Runner-up: Liz Lamb, The Northern Echo. Commended: Carl Eve, Evening Echo, Basildon/Southend.

Free Newspaper of the Year (64 pages and under): Runcorn and Widnes World. Runner-up: Truro Packet. Commended: Halesowen News.

Free Newspaper of the Year (over 64 pages): Kidderminster Shuttle. Runner-up: News Shopper. Commended: Evesham Journal.

Paid For Weekly Newspaper of the Year (under 64 pages): Ilkley Gazette. Runner-up: Craven Herald and Pioneer. Commended: Chard and Ilminster News.

Paid-for Weekly Newspaper of the Year (over 64 pages): Somerset County Gazette. Runner-up: Sunday Indendent, Plymouth.

By Sarah Boden

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *