Times newspapers score six times at sports awards

The Times and Sunday Times walked away with six awards between them at last night’s Sports Journalists’ Association awards in London.

The Times newspaper won a hat-trick of prizes – including specialist correspondent of the year for former England cricket captain Michael Atherton.

John Hopkins from Times Online won the sports internet writer award, and there were two gongs for the Sunday Times, including the prize of interviewer of the year, which went to Paul Kimmage for the fifth consecutive year.

The Mail on Sunday left with three awards, including the overall prize of sports journalist of the year for Patrick Collins, ending Martin Samuel’s run of three successive wins.

The Guardian won team of the year for its coverage of last summer’s Olympic Games in Beijing.

The Racing Post’s Edward Whitaker was crowned sports photographer of the year for the first time. He also kept the sports portfolio title that he won last year.

Sports broadcaster of the year went to Sky’s Soccer Saturday host Jeff Stelling for the fourth year running.

The awards have been running since 1976 and are judged by national newspaper sports editors.

The full list of winners

Sports writer
Patrick Collins (Mail on Sunday)

Sports broadcaster
Jeff Stelling (Sky)

Sports picture
Clive Mason (Getty Images)

Sports team
The Guardian (Olympics)

Oliver Holt (Daily Mirror)

Feature writer
Owen Slot (The Times)

Sports news reporter
Rob Draper (Mail on Sunday)

Sports story
Rob Draper and Daniel King (Mail on Sunday)

Sports diarist
David Hills (The Observer)

Specialist correspondent
Michael Atherton (The Times)

Sports interviewer
Paul Kimmage (Sunday Times)

Young sports photographer
Paul Gilham (Getty Images)

Young sports writer
Emma John (Observer Sport Monthly)

Sports betting writer
Steve Palmer (Racing Post)

Regional writer
Jon Colman (Cumbrian Newspapers)

Sports news picture
Marc Aspland (The Times)

Sports internet writer
John Hopkins (Times Online)

Sports cartoonist
Nick Newman (Sunday Times)

Specialist picture portfolio
Edward Whitaker (Racing Post)

Sports picture portfolio
Matt Dunham (Associated Press)

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *