Times' Martin Samuel named sports writer of the year again

Martin Samuel of The Times has been named sports writer of the year for the second successive year in the British Sports Journalism Awards.

Samuel topped a poll of national newspaper sports editors to win the John Bromley Trophy for his writing during 2006.

Sports photographer of the year is Stu Forster of Getty Images, who also won the sports portfolio picture category.

Sky TV's Jeff Stelling was named Broadcaster of the Year for the second time for his anchoring of the Saturday afternoon show Gillette Soccer Saturday.

Samuel is the first to retain the top sports journalism award since Patrick Collins (Mail on Sunday) in 1990 and, before that, Ian Wooldridge (Daily Mail) in 1987.

Wooldridge, who died earlier this month, was remembered by the assembled journalists and photographers who drank a toast in the presence of his widow, Sarah.

Paul Kimmage of the Sunday Times retained the sports interviewer award, and James Lawton of The Independent was named sports feature writer, having last year taken the sports columnist title.

Alan Hubbard (Independent on Sunday) regained the sports diarist prize from Charles Sale (Daily Mail). In the four years this category have been going Hubbard and Sale are level 2-2.

Doug Gillon of The Herald, Glasgow,  not only won the regional sports writer title for the second time but also took home the specialist correspondent prize.

Edward Whitaker of the Racing Post won the photographic category for specialist sports portfolio.


No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *