The British Press Awards - all the nominations - Press Gazette

The British Press Awards - all the nominations

The Daily Telegraph and Guardian lead the nominations in this year’s British Press Awards with 19 shortlisted entries each.

After a year in which the Daily Telegraph dominated the news agenda with its series of revelations about MPs’ expenses its journalists are nominated in categories including scoop of the year, political journalist of the year and reporter of the year.

The Guardian has the next most nominations with 17 (with an additional two nominations shared with sister title The Observer) followed by The Sunday Times on 15, The Times on 12, the Daily Mail with 11 and the Mail on Sunday and Daily Mirror with 10 a piece.

The British Press Awards are run by Wilmington in association with Press Gazette.

A long-list for the top prize of journalist of the year is expected to be released by Wilmington later this week. And newspaper of the year will be announced on the night.

The winners will be decided after a second round of judging this week overseen by Bob Satchwell and will be announced on the evening of 23 March at Grosvenor House.

The nominations are for the British Press Awards 2010 are:

Business & Finance Journalist

The Daily Mail – Alex Brummer

The Daily Telegraph – Jeremy Warner

The Guardian and The Observer – Jill Treanor

The Independent – Hamish McRae

The Observer – Larry Elliott

The Sunday Times – Iain Dey


The Daily Mail – Stanley McMurtry

The Daily Telegraph – Nick Garland

The Daily Telegraph – Matt Pritchett

The Independent – Dave Brown

The Mail on Sunday – Michael Heath

The Observer – Chris Riddell

The Times – Peter Brookes


Daily Mirror – Fair Tips Campaign

The Guardian – The Tax Gap Series

The Sunday Telegraph – Robert Mendick

The Guardian – Climate Change Campaign

The Sunday Times Insight – Lords Investigation

The Daily Telegraph – MPs’ Expenses


Daily Mirror – Brian Reade

Financial Times – Martin Wolf

The Guardian – Tanya Gold

The Guardian – Marina Hyde

The Guardian – Charlie Brooker

The Independent – Ian Birrell

The Sun – Kelvin MacKenzie

The Times – Caitlin Moran


The Daily Mail – Quentin Letts

The Daily Telegraph – Charles Spencer

The Evening Standard – Brian Sewell

The Mail on Sunday – Craig Brown

The Sunday Times – AA Gill

The Sunday Times – Waldemar Januszczak

Cudlipp Award – for outstanding tabloid journalism

The Daily Mail – Richard Pendlebury and Jamie Wiseman: Afghanistan boy soldiers

The Daily Mirror – Andrew Penman and Nick Sommerlad Investigate

The Daily Mirror – Hillsborough: Justice for 96

The Independent – Baltimore Crime Exchange

The Sun – Sunemployment

The Sunday Mirror – Christmas salute to war heroes

Digital Innovation – – 2009 Flower Show

The Guardian – The Guardian G20 Coverage

The Guardian – The Guardian on the iPhone

The Sun – SunTalk

The Times – Times Labs

The Wall Street Journal – Berlin Wall Interactive

Feature Writer

The Daily Mail – Richard Pendlebury

The Daily Telegraph – Mick Brown

The Guardian – Tanya Gold

The Independent – Johann Hari

The Sunday Times – John Arlidge

The Sunday Times – AA Gill

Foreign Reporter

The Daily Mail – Richard Pendlebury

The Guardian – Ghaith Abdul-Ahad

The Independent – Robert Fisk

The Sunday Times – Marie Colvin

The Sunday Times – Dan McDougall

The Times – Martin Fletcher


The Daily Telegraph – Elizabeth Grice

The Daily Telegraph – Mick Brown

The Observer – Carole Cadwalladr

The Sunday Times – Ariel Leve

The Sunday Times – Camilla Long

The Times – Ginny Dougary


Getty Images – Peter Macdiarmid

Press Association Images – Lewis Whyld

Press Association Images – Owen Humphreys

Press Association Images – Stefan Rousseau

The Daily Mail – Jamie Wiseman

The Times – Peter Nicholls

Political Journalist

The Daily Telegraph – Benedict Brogan

The Daily Telegraph – Robert Winnett

The Financial Times – George Parker

The Guardian – Patrick Wintour

The Observer – Andrew Rawnsley

The Sunday Telegraph – Matthew D’Ancona

The Times – Daniel Finkelstein

Regular Supplement

The Daily Telegraph – Telegraph Magazine

The Guardian – Guardian Weekend Magazine

The Mail on Sunday – Live Magazine

The Mail on Sunday – You Magazine

The Sunday Times – Culture

The Times – Eureka


News of the World – Mazher Mahmood

The Daily Telegraph – Robert Winnett

The Guardian – Paul Lewis

The Mail on Sunday – David Rose

The Mail on Sunday – Jason Lewis

The Times – Andrew Norfolk


The Mail on Sunday – Jason Lewis for “Mi6 chief blows his cover on Facebook”

The Sunday Express – Marco Giannangeli and Jason Groves for “Jacqui Smith put adult film on expenses”

The Daily Mail – Dan Newling for “Cabinet minister’s cleaner is alleged illegal immigrant”

The Guardian – For revelations about the death of Ian Tomlinson

The Sunday Times – Claire Newell and Jonathan Calvert for “Cash for Amendments”

The Daily Telegraph – MPs’ Expenses

Showbiz Reporter

Daily Mirror – Tom Bryant

Daily Mirror – Fiona Cummins

Daily Mirror – Sarah Tetteh

Daily Mirror – Clemmie Moodie

News of the World – Dan Wootton

Sunday Mirror – Dean Piper

The People – Katie Hind

The Sun – Gordon Smart

The Sun – Colin Robertson

Specialist Journalist

Financial Times – Martin Wolf

The Daily Mail – Michael Hanlon

The Daily Telegraph – David Millward

The Guardian and The Observer – John Vidal

The Independent – Terri Judd

The Mail on Sunday – Jason Lewis

Special Supplement

Daily Mirror – Hillsborough Campaign

Evening Standard Ltd – The 1000

Financial Times – The Future of Capitalism

The Daily Telegraph – The Complete Expenses Files

The Guardian – 100 Years of Great Press Photographs

The Sunday Times – Climate Change

Sports Journalist

The Daily Mail – Martin Samuel

The Daily Telegraph – Ian Chadband

The Guardian – David Conn

The Guardian – Donald McRae

The Mail on Sunday – Rob Draper

The Mail on Sunday – Patrick Collins

The Sunday Times – Paul Kimmage

The Times – Matthew Syed

The Times – Mike Atherton

Sports Photographer

Freelance – Bradley Ormesher

Press Association Images – Owen Humphreys

Reuters – Eddie Keogh

The Daily Mail – Andy Hooper

The Guardian – Tom Jenkins

The Sun – Richard Pelham

Young Journalist

The Daily Mirror – Andrew Gregory

The Daily Telegraph – Holly Watt

The Daily Telegraph – Jon Swaine

The Financial Times – Tom Burgis

The News of The World – Guy Basnett

The Observer – Tom Lamont

The Sunday Times – Miles Amoore

The Times – Sheera Frankel

International Journalist

Abdel Kareem Nabil Suleiman – Egypt

Ahmad Zeydabadi – Iran

Asos Hardi – Iraq

Dawit Isaac – Eritrea

Dhondup Wangchen – China

Eynulla Fatullayev – Azerbaijan

Gustavo Azócar – Venezuela

Hanevy Ould Dehah – Mauritania

Hla Hla Win – Burma

Ismail Cihan Hayirsevener – Turkey

J. S. Tissainayagam – Sri Lanka

Kim Seong-Min – North Korea

Mashallah Shamsolvaezin – Iran

Maziar Bahari – Iran

Olga Kotovskaya – Russia

Ricardo González Alfonso – Cuba



Press Gazette's must-read weekly newsletter featuring interviews, data, insight and investigations.


15 thoughts on “The British Press Awards - all the nominations”

  1. Where is Britain’s best columnist – Janice Turner! No doubt she ain’t vain enough to enter – which is obvious from her Facebook photo! And, before you ask, I have no connection to this fine writer whatsoever.

  2. Good work from the Daily Mirror showbiz team. 4 of the 9 nominations. Wow. Good luck guys!

1 2 3 8

Comments are closed.