SJA adds sports newspaper of the year prize category to annual awards

The Sports Journalists Association has added a new sports newspaper of the year award to its annual prize-giving.

The new category will feature alongside the 17 prizes currently given out each year to celebrate the industry’s leading sports writers, photographers and broadcasters.

Jon Ryan, former sports editor of the Sunday Telegraph, will act as chairman of the judges for this year’s awards.

Ryan said the new award had been launched because: “Newspaper journalists are wonderfully old-fashioned. Even while they campaign for change, some stalwartly believe that if words do not appear in print they are not worth the reading.”

Entry forms for the 2010 SJA British Sports Journalism Awards are now available online.

Candidates have until 21 January to submit entries. The broadcasting awards will again be determined by a ballot of SJA members, with the voting procedure to be announced in the coming weeks.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 × 4 =