Six Online Media Awards nominations for Press Gazette

Press Gazette has received six nominations in the inaugural Online Media Awards.

This website has been named among the finalists as best site for news-led journalism, best specialist site for journalism, best use of social media and best site for campaigning and investigative journalism. Editor Dominic Ponsford has been shortlisted for online editor of the year and digital writer of the year.

Press Gazette currently attracts some 140,000 unique users a month online with a further 6,000 daily email newsletter subscribers and 16,500 Twitter followers.

The awards judges include former editor of The Age Andrew Jaspan, former online editor of Mirror Group David Mill, former editor of The Herald Charles McGhee and former director of the World Association of Newspapers Jim Chisholm.

The winners of the Press Association-sponsored event will be announced at a dinner being held at the Marriot Kensington on 23 June.

Awards founder Gordon Young said: ‘As online services develop there is no doubt that the quality of journalism will ultimately decide which platforms are simply a flash in the pan and which ones endure.

‘That is why it is important that there is an event to recognise and celebrate who is getting it right.

‘The standard of entries have been extremely high and this has ensured a high octane shortlist. Our judges really have their work cut out in terms of deciding who will pick up the prestigious awards in June.”

Full list of finalists for the Online Media Awards:

Online editor of the year

Dominic Ponsford –

Rachel Purkett – and

Gordon Thomson – The Sunday Times

Martin Ashplant –

Best Site for news-led Journalism

Best specialist site for journalism

Best campaigning/investigative Journalism for Wikileaks for Insight investigations by the Sunday Times

Best commentary/blogging for All the Life of London on our Blogs

Best video journalism

Best designed site

Best Twitter feed




Best use of social media

BBC London

Best Use of crowd sourcing or citizen journalism

BBC London for Mapping the Tube Strike – with your help

Social Business Group for MindfulMoney

Best use of photography

Best commercial innovation

Digital writer of the year

Adrian Warner – BBC London

Tom Edwards – BBC London

Emma Barnett – The Daily Telegraph

Kurt Barling – Barling’s London (BBC)

Dominic Ponsford –

Best podcast – Non League Football Show

Technical innovation –

The Sun for The Sun for iPad

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *