Sir Trevor McDonald wins RIMA Award

Sir Trevor McDonald has won Media Personality of the Year award at the Commission for Racial Equality's Race in the Media Awards 2005.

Trevor Phillips, Chair of the Commission for Racial Equality said: “The UK's first black news anchor, Sir Trevor McDonald, is an integral part of British broadcasting establishment and is a talented author, presenter and award show compere. In addition, he has been an inspiration and role model for many ethnic minorities and has demonstrated that the glass ceiling really can be smashed."

Other RIMA award winners included the Guardian's Leo Benedictus and Michael Robinson (National Newspaper), Rebecca Stephens and Nigel Thornton at the Peterborough Evening Telegraph (Local Newspaper), Nursing Standard's Sharon Dennis and Linda Thomas (Specialist Magazine), Michael Hodges and Rebecca Taylor at Time Out (Consumer magazine), Dr Kurt Barling and Michael McFarlane on BBC London News (TV News) and James Button and May Lam's at The Sydney Morning Herald and Melbourne Age (International award).

The RIMA awards recognise outstanding achievements by the media in their treatment of issues relating to race relations and integration.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *