Shortlists for the Student Journalism Awards

The record number of entries for Press Gazette's Student Journalism Awards made the judging process tougher than ever this year, but the shortlists have now been agreed.

The event, now in its fifth year, is sponsored by Camelot Group plc, and judges for the final stages include Loaded editor Martin Daubney, ITN managing editor Robin Elias, Sun crime editor Mike Sullivan, LBC head of news Jonathan Richards and Reuters editorial training manager Nigel Stephenson.

The winners will be announced at a lunchtime ceremony at the London headquarters of Reuters on Friday 30 June, where there will also be an opportunity to tour the newsroom and talk to key figures in journalism.

The nominees are: Student news writer of the year: Gareth Deighan, Trinity Mirror Training; James Fontanella, City

University; Chloe Griffiths, Trinity Mirror Training; Felicity Hay, University of Sheffield; Nico Hines, City University; Emma Rowley, City University.

Student feature writer of the year: Gemma Brosnan, London College of Communication; Robert Gibson, Belfast Institute of Further and Higher Education; Alice Klein, Lambeth College; Catriona Stewart, Scottish Centre for Journalism Studies; Katie Toms, City University; Mitya Susan Underwood, Trinity Mirror Training; Wesley Yin-Poole, City University.

Student interviewer of the year: Julia Buckley, Harlow College; Craig Hope, Trinity Mirror Training Course; Anna Norberg, Goldsmiths College; Sarah Penn, University of Westminster; Chloe Smith, Highbury College, Portsmouth; Wesley Yin-Poole, City University.

Student scoop of the year: Craig Evans, Bournemouth University; Chloe Griffiths, Trinity Mirror Training; Amy Hunt, Trinity Mirror Training; Tom Latchem, Trinity Mirror Training; Marcus Leroux, Cardiff University; Chloe Smith, Highbury College, Portsmouth.

Student radio journalist of the year: Helena Daniell, Trinity & All Saints College, Leeds; Hannah Emerson- Thomas, Cardiff Journalism School; Emma Hallett, University College, Falmouth; Matthew Lockwood, Goldsmiths College; Lindsay Walker, Cardiff Journalism School; Tim Wheeler, Goldsmiths College.

Student television journalist of the year: Ben Chapman, Cardiff University; Claire Maskell, Nottingham Trent University; Laura Reid, Nottingham Trent University; James Stables, Bournemouth University; Jessica

Stanley, Bournemouth University; Emma Vardy, University College, Falmouth.

Student online journalist of the year: Andrew Haigh, Cumbria Institute of the Arts; Sarah Penn, University of Westminster; Wesley Yin-Poole, City University.

Student team of the year: CJS Breakfast Show, Cardiff Journalism School; Footprint, City University; Gravitas, University of Westminster; Impulse, Napier University; JUS News, University of Sheffield; London on the Move, PMA Training; Lord of the Rings, University of Central Lancashire; Queen Bee, City University.

A shortlist for photographer of the year will be published on Press Gazette's website on Friday, 9 June. The overall student journalist of the year will be selected from the winners of the individual categories.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *