Shortlists announced for 2008 Regional Press Awards

Following a round of judging which involved nearly 50 senior figures from the world of UK journalism – the 2008 Press Gazette Regional Press Awards journalist of the year shortlists are announced today.

The winners will be revealed at the Lancaster Hotel in London on 13 June at an awards event presented by Nick Ferrari.

Chairman of the Regional Press Awards judges Peter Sands, former editor of the Northern Echo, said: ‘We have had double the number of entries that we had last year which is an indication that the regional press is alive and well. Again the standard was extremely high

‘The judges had a very difficult job and we have been very encouraged by what we have seen.”

The shortlists for reporter of the year, daily and Sunday newspapers and weeklies, will be announced on Monday due to a delay collating the judges’ scores..

Here are the other category shortlists:

Specialist Writer of the Year

  • Angus Young, Hull Daily Mail
  • Claire Lomax, Telegraph & Argus, Bradford
  • Clare Boyd, Nottingham Evening Post
  • David Gordon, Belfast Telegraph
  • Jade Beecroft, Derby Evening Telegraph
  • Charles Walker, Nottingham Evening Post

Young Journalist of the Year

  • Adam Lovell, Hull Daily Mail
  • Aleisha Scott, Western Daily Press
  • Ben Goldby, Sunday Mercury
  • Joanna Hunter, Hull Daily Mail
  • Matt Chorley, Western Morning News
  • Naomi Harris, Express & Echo, Exeter

Designer of the Year

  • Barney Banks, Lincolnshire Echo
  • Ian Bond, Hull Daily Mail
  • Jonathan Elsey, Evening Star
  • Michelle Dalton, Shropshire Star
  • Neil MacDonald, Liverpool Echo
  • Tracey Feltham, Western Daily Press

Photographer of the Year (Daily/Sunday)

  • Anthony Chappel-Ross, The Press (York)
  • Colin Lane, Liverpool Daily Post and Echo
  • Jason Roberts, Liverpool Daily Post and Echo
  • Richard Austin, Western Morning News
  • Simon Hulme, Yorkshire Post
  • Trevor Roberts, Birmingham Post and Mail

Daily/Sunday Newspaper of the Year (Below 40,000 circulation)

  • East Anglian Times
  • Express and Echo, Exeter
  • Ipswich Evening Star
  • Liverpool Daily Post
  • Swindon Advertiser
  • The Argus, Brighton
  • The Journal, Newcastle
  • Cambridge Evening News

Daily/Sunday Newspaper of the Year (Above 40,000 circulation)

  • Belfast Telegraph
  • Derby Evening Telegraph
  • Hull Daily Mail
  • Liverpool Echo
  • Manchester Evening News
  • Sunday Life
  • Sunday Mercury

Front Page of the Year

  • Belfast Telegraph, Heartbreak
  • Bournemouth Daily Echo, Last Goodbye
  • Evening Star, Stansted
  • Hull Daily Mail, Floods
  • Lincolnshire Echo, Post War
  • The Journal, Northern Rock

Scoop of the Year

  • Basildon Echo, Slave Labour
  • Belfast Telegraph, Ian Paisley Jnr
  • Bristol Evening Post, Copping Off
  • Cambridge Evening News, Sex change mayor & mayoress
  • Eastern Daily Press, The Broads
  • The Press, York, Coffin empty for 10 years

Sports Journalist of the Year (Daily/Sunday)

  • Amanda Little, News and Star, Carlise
  • Hugh MacDonald, The Herald
  • John Gibson, Evening Chronicle, Newcastle Upon Tyne
  • Luke Edwards, The Journal, Newcastle Upon Tyne
  • Mike Amos, The Northern Echo
  • Neil Farrington, Sunday Sun
  • Richard Sutcliffe, Yorkshire Post

Feature Writer of the Year (Weekly)

  • Jane Loughran, Cumberland News
  • Laura Vickers, Tamworth Herald
  • Paul Keilthy, Camden New Journal
  • Reg Little, The Oxford Times
  • Richard Osley, Camden New Journal
  • Roger Lytollis, Cumberland News

Feature Writer of the Year (Daily/Sunday)

  • Alice Ryan, Cambridge Evening News
  • Chrissie Russell, Belfast Telegraph
  • Debbie Waite, Oxford Mail
  • Jayne Dawson, Yorkshire Evening Post
  • Owen Amos, The Nothern Echo
  • Paddy Shennan, Liverpool Echo

Photographer of the Year (Weekly)

  • Christopher Whiteoak, Aldershot News
  • Gemma Marriner, News Guardian/News Post Leader
  • Helen Drake, Hunts Post and Ely Standard
  • Jules Dann, Ilford Recorder
  • Spencer Griffiths, Ilford Recorder
  • Stephen Garnett, Craven Herald

Sports Photographer of the Year (Daily/Sunday)

  • Ann McManus, Irish News, Belfast
  • Chris Booth, The Northern Echo
  • Dan Matthams, Nottingham Evening Post
  • Katherine Burnett, Derby Evening Telegraph
  • Sarah Nicholson, The Northern Echo
  • Simon Renilson, Hull Daily Mail
  • Stuart Boulton, The Northern Echo
  • Stuart Harrison, Swindon Advertiser
  • Tony Johnson, Yorkshire Evening Post

Sports Photographer of the Year (Weekly)

  • Alistair Wilson, Aldershot News
  • Chris Whitoak, Aldershot News
  • Gemma Marriner, News Guardian/News Post Leader
  • Jason Chadwick, Buxton Advertiser
  • John Fryer, South Manchester Reporter
  • Stephen Garnett, Craven Herald

Supplement of the Year

  • Birmingham Post, City Living
  • Gloucestershire Echo & Citizen, Weekend
  • Leicester Mercury, Leicestershire Chronicle (Nostalgia)
  • Manchester Evening News, Munich Remembered
  • The Journal,Culture
  • Western Daily Press, West Country Life

Sports Journalist of the Year (Weekly)

  • Amanda Little, Cumberland News
  • David Rimmer, Herts & Essex Observer
  • Eric MacKinnon, West Lothian Courier
  • Jon Colman, Cumberland News
  • Phil Ravitz, Hackney Gazette
  • Richard Partington, Rochdale Observer

Multimedia Publisher of the Year

  • Hull Daily Mail
  • Liverpool Daily Post
  • Manchester Evening News
  • Express & Echo Exeter
  • Evening Gazette, Middlesborough
  • Evening Chronicle, Newcastle
  • Oxford Mail

Multimedia Journalist of the Year

  • Adrian Sudbury, Huddersfield Daily Examiner
  • James Shaw, Shropshire Star
  • Jessica Salter, Manchester Evening News
  • Jessica Shaughnessy, Liverpool Daily Post
  • Lauren Pyrah, Northern Echo
  • Simon Parkin, Norwich Evening News
  • Tony Clixby, Chester Chronicle

Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Above 20,000)

  • Bath Chronicle
  • Croydon Advertiser
  • Kent Messenger
  • Oxford Times
  • South London Press
  • The Cumberland News

Weekly Newspaper of the Year (Below 20,000)

  • Barking and Dagenham Post
  • Bishop’s Stortford Observer
  • Chorley Guardian
  • East London Advertiser
  • Hampshire Chronicle
  • Shrewsbury Chronicle

Columnist of the Year

  • Colin Drury, Halifax Evening Courier
  • Erik Petersen, Nottingham Evening Post
  • Joe Riley, Liverpool Echo
  • Keith Rossiter, The Herald, Plymouth
  • Lynne Mortimer, East Anglian Daily Times
  • Mike Wolfe, The Sentinel
  • Pete Pheasant, Derby Evening Telegraph

Business and Finance Journalist of the Year

  • James Cowling, Bristol Evening Post
  • Sam Williams, Norwich Evening News
  • Jon Griffin, Birmingham Mail
  • Julia Breen, Northern Echo
  • Greg Wright, Yorkshire Post
  • Graeme King, The Journal

The five-member juries will now meet to decide the winners in each category.

Tickets are now available for the awards lunch. Those wishing to make a booking should call Alex Pont on 0207 324 2396.

The Regional Press Awards judges are :

  • Alan Geere
  • Alan Gilliland
  • Alison Hastings
  • Andy Drinkwater
  • Barry Dennis
  • Bob Satchwell
  • Brian Page
  • Brian Attwood
  • David Gledhill
  • David Kernek
  • David Banks
  • Diane Summers
  • Eric Rayner
  • Gareth Weekes
  • George Dearsley
  • Graham Cole
  • Graham Dudman
  • Jim Holgate
  • Jim Chisholm
  • Jonathan Grun
  • Lynne Anderson
  • Michael Crozier
  • Mike Dodd
  • Mike Brough
  • Neil Fowler
  • Nicola Swan
  • Pat Pilton
  • Paul Charman
  • Paul Deal
  • Peter Sands
  • Phil Swift
  • Richard Edwards
  • Richard Parsons
  • Robin Fletcher
  • Steve Panter
  • Steve Busfield
  • Sue Ryan
  • Terry Manners
  • Terry Ramsey
  • Tom Hendry
  • Tony Johnston
  • Vicky Taylor
  • Keith Elliott
  • Martin Keene
  • Martin Stephens

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *