Regional Press Awards 2011 shortlist unveiled

The shortlist has today been published for this year’s Regional Press Awards, which are under the new ownership of the Society of Editors.

More than 750 entries were received from across the British regional newspaper industry. The ceremony takes place in London on 11 May and will be hosted by LBC’s Nick Ferrari.

Society of Editors executive director Bob Satchwell said in a statement today: “The judges faced a formidable task and the rare privilege of reading thousands of words gathered together in brilliant entries that reflect the variety, vitality and sheer excellence of local and regional newspapers, which are of course the best in the world.

“In some cases the entries were so strong in quality as well as numbers that it was simply impossible to choose only six for each shortlist.”

The full shortlists are as follows:

Business and finance journalist of the year
Simon Bain – The Herald, Glasgow
Jon Griffin – Birmingham Mail
Robin Johnson – Derby Telegraph
Catherine Lea – Hull Daily Mail
Owen McAteer – The Northern Echo
Michael Ribbeck – Bristol Evening Post

Digital innovation of the year
Birmingham Mail Communities – Birmingham Mail
Greater Manchester Police 24 – Manchester Evening News
How YOU will bear the brunt of the cuts – Manchester Evening News
Hunt for Raoul Moat – NCJ Media Newcastle
The Pinkun Norwich – The Pinkun, Norwich (www.pinkun.com)
Virtual Reality Museum of Norfolk – Eastern Daily Press

Daily/Sunday photographer of the year
Christopher Booth – The Northern Echo
Anthony Chappel-Ross – The Press, York
Matthew Horwood – Media Wales
Gareth Jones – Liverpool Daily Post and Echo
Mark McCormick – Sunday Life
Liz Pearce – Media Wales

Scoop of the year
Mary Griffin – Woman caught dumping cat in wheelie bin, Coventry Telegraph
Shaun Jepson – We find the runaway sex fiend, Derby Telegraph
Keeley Knowles – Teen banned from US over Obama hate mail, Bedfordshire on Sunday
Jeanette Oldham – Asylum missing millions, Sunday Mercury
Martin Shipton – Long List of S4C TV shows with zero viewers, Media Wales
Lui Stracci – Pakistan Murder trial accused living on benefits, Luton and Dunstable Express

Young journalist of the year
Ryan Crighton – The Press and Journal
Claire Duffin – Derby Telegraph
Matthew Holehouse – The Herald, Glasgow
Joe Shute – Yorkshire Post
Dan Warburton – NCJ Media
Chris Watt – Herald and Times, Glasgow

Feature writer of the year
Laura Davis – Liverpool Daily Post
Lee Marlow – Leicester Mercury
Rod McPhee – Yorkshire Evening Post
David O’Dornan – Sunday Life
Dave Owens – Media Wales
Adam Wakelin – Leicester Mercury
Gail Walker – Belfast Telegraph

Weekly photographer of the year
Ian Cooper – Chester Chronicle
Stephen Garnett – Craven Herald
Chris Gleave – Manchester Evening News and Weekly group
Sean Hansford – Rochdale Observer
Stuart Vance – West Lothian Courier
Stuart Walker – The Cumberland News

Daily/Sunday sports journalist of the year
Paul Abbandonato – Media Wales
Jon Colman – News and Star, Carlisle
Andy Cryer – Lancashire Telegraph
John Gibson – Evening Chronicle, Newcastle
James Robson – Manchester Evening News
Martin Smith – The Star, Sheffield
Anthony Vickers – Evening Gazette, Middlesbrough

Daily/Sunday reporter of the year
Bimpe Archer – The Irish News
Adam Aspinall – Sunday Mercury
Ben Kendall – Eastern Daily Press
Allison Morris – The Irish News
Jeanette Oldham – Sunday Mercury
Martin Shipton – Media Wales
Dan Thompson – Manchester Evening News

Front page of the year
Temper Graffiti – Birmingham Post
Help Us Grow – Bristol Evening Post
A Day When Derry Changed – Derry News
Get In – Evening Chronicle, Newcastle
Our City Divided – Manchester Evening News
Hurricane’s Epitaph – Sunday Life
The Gull Menace – The Bath Chronicle

Specialist writer of the year
Ciaran Barnes – Crime reporter, Sunday Life
Alison Dayani – Health correspondent, Birmingham Mail
Tom Dowling – Disability, All Together NOW!
Nicky Harley – Court reporter, Hull Daily Mail
Shaun Lintern – Health correspondent, Express & Star, Wolverhampton
Vicki Mathias – Health reporter, Bristol Evening Post
Becky Sheaves – Food and drink editor, Western Morning News
Charles Walker – Local government, Nottingham Post

Columnist of the year
Gavin Aitchison – The Press, York
Simon Carr – Southern Daily Echo
John Connery – News Letter, Ulster
Colin Drury – The Star, Sheffield
Ian Midgley – Hull Daily Mail
Erik Petersen – Nottingham Post

Weekly sports journalist of the year
Jon Colman – The Cumberland News
Chris Harby – Melton Times
Amanda Little – The Cumberland News
Eric Mackinnon – West Lothian Courier
Colin Paterson – Airdrie & Coatbridge Advertiser
David Powell – North Devon Journal

Designer of the year
Ian Bond – Hull Daily Mail
Neil Cammies – Media Wales
Peter Devine – Manchester Evening News
Alan Formby-Jackson – Evening Gazette, Middlesbrough
Angela Swann – Oxford Mail
Doug Young – NCJ Media

Weekly reporter of the year
Anthony Bonnici – West Briton
Paul Francis – The Kent Messenger
Charlotte Richardson – Weston, Worle & Somerset Mercury
John Siddle – Trinity Mirror Merseyside Weeklies
Lui Straccia – Luton & Dunstable Express
Janine Yaqoob – Trinity Mirror Merseyside Weeklies

Campaign of the year
Give Water, Give Life – Derby Telegraph
Make it Marham – Eastern Daily Press
End the Indignity – Evening News, Norwich
You Saved Tea Bar – Greenock Telegraph
Air Angels – Sunday Sun
Jet Set NHS – The Irish News
Safety Net – The Northern Echo
Communities in Need – Yorkshire Post

Daily/Sunday newspaper of the year (above 25k)
East Anglian Daily Times
Press & Journal
The Irish News
The Journal
Sunday Life
Yorkshire Post

Daily/Sunday newspaper of the year (below 25k)
Cambridge News
Evening Star, Ipswich
Lincolnshire Echo
News & Star, Carlisle
Oxford Mail
The Gazette, Blackpool

Weekly newspaper of the year (above 20k)
Chester Chronicle
Cumberland News
Essex Chronicle
North Devon Journal
Somerset County Gazette
South London Press

Weekly newspaper of the year (below 20k)
Bath Chronicle
Derry News
Ham & High
Northumberland Gazette
Oxford Times
The Cornishman

Regular supplement of the year
Banter Magazine – Bristol Evening Post
Crime Files – Birmingham Mail
City Life – Manchester Evening News
The Pink Un – Eastern Daily Press
Weekend – Gloucestershire Echo
Weekend Magazine – Belfast Telegraph
Western Mail Magazine – Western Mail

Special supplement of the year
250th Anniversary – Bath Chronicle
140th Anniversary – Eastern Daily Press
Election Saturday Special – Ham & High
Sportsdesk – Oxford Mail
All Ireland Football Final – The Irish News
Farewell to the Ark – The News, Portsmouth

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *