Press Gazette magazine awards shortlist revealed - Press Gazette

Press Gazette magazine awards shortlist revealed

Press Gazette has announced the shortlists for the 2008 Magazine Design and Journalism Awards.

The winners will be revealed on 3 November at the London Mariott Hotel, Grosvenor Square, at an event hosted by TV personality and BBC sports presenter Clare Balding.

The awards, now in their 10th year, recognise creative talent across consumer, B2B and customer magazines.

Press Gazette editor and chairman of judges Dominic Ponsford said: ‘These awards aim to bring the same rigour used in the British Press Awards to recognise excellence in the world of magazines.

‘More than 50 of the country’s leading magazine professionals were involved in the judging process and found that the standard of work on display was incredibly high.

‘Just making it to the shortlist is an amazing achievement and much of the work which failed to make it to the final was still astoundingly good.

“The work across the board provides ample evidence that Britain’s magazine industry is in great health.”

For more details about the judging process and how to attend the awards night – visit the MDJ&A website.

Young Designer of the Year

Adam Gerrard, FHM

Dominic Bell, Wallpaper

Emilia Ohberg, Electric!

Emma Chiu, Icon Magazine

Jonny Clark, Ryanair/Maxjet ‘Jetstyle’

Ruth Roberts, Surf Europe

Best Designed Features Spread

Adrian Aldred, Upload Magazine

Chris Gardner, Financial Director

Florencia Donek, Today Tomorrow

Grant Bowden, Ritz

Chris Parker, What’s Next

Tan Parmar, Contact – “Free”

Warren Jackson, Electric!

Best New Design/Redesign

Adnan Aldred, Upload

Cecilia Lindgren, The Architects Journal

Chris Parker, Crystallized

Marissa Bourke, Elle

Ruth Roberts, Surf Europe

Shailesh Chavda, Enterprising

Best Designed Front Cover

Craig Baxter, V-zine

David McKendrick, Esquire

Frank Foster, F1 Racing

Graham Hambly, PQ Magazine

Katherine Masters, First Life (BA)

Marissa Bourke, Elle

Stephen Reid, The Sunday Times Magazine

Tan Parmar, Contact

Best Use of Typography

Andy Ellis, Next Level

Violetta Boxill, Icon

Grant Bowden, Ritz

Chris Parker, What’s Next

Jonathan Clayton-Jones, Grazia

Matt Shelley, Student Guide – Festival Edition

Magazine Team, Elle

Warren Jackson, Electric!

Best Use of Illustration

Design Team, Live

Ian Dutnall, Ethos

Ian Pierce, Roger

Jon Butterworth, Camouflage

Kate Monument, (Men)

Tan Parmar, Contact – ‘Rocking’

Tan Parmar, Contact – ‘Sensory Showcase’

Best Use of Photography

Andy Franklin, Car

Dan Delaney, Onelife

Chris Parker, Crystallized

Jonathan Clayton Jones, Grazia

Magazine Team, Live

Simon Campbell, Waterstones Books Quarterly

Stephen Reid, The Sunday Times Magazine (Sebastiao Salgado)

Magazine Designer of the Year

Chris Parker, John Brown

David McKendrick, Esquire

Jonathan Clayton-Jones, Grazia

Joanne Curran, Live

Jonathan Gregory, Dirt Magazine

Tan Parmar, Contact

Tim Scott, Spikes & Jaguar

Best Designed Magazine of the Year B2B

Abi Singmin, A1 Magazine

Cecilia Lindgren, The Architects Journal

Dean Dorat, Contagious

Ian Dutnall, Ethos

Sam Jenkins, Building

Tan Parmer, Contact

Best Designed Magazine of the Year Customer

Dan Delaney, Onelife

Grant Bowden, Ritz

Chris Parker, What’s Next

Chris Parker, Crystallized

Jo Spreadborough, DCM

Jon Butterworth, Camouflage

Best Designed Magazine of the Year Consumer (Under 40k)

Creative team, Cornwall Today

Creative team, Icon Magazine

Matt Ward, Kingpin Skateboarding Europa

Paul Willoughby & Rob Longworth, Little White Lies

Best Designed Magazine of the Year Consumer (Over 40k)

Jonathan Clayton Jones, Grazia

Meirion Pritchard, Wallpaper

Paul Willoughby & Rob Longworth, Huck

Robin Morgan, Sunday Times Magazine

Steve Sayers and Rachel Dickens, Focus

Tom Usher, Harper’s Bazaar

Exclusive of the Year

James Steen, Waitrose Food Illustrated – ‘Marcus Wareing”

John Follain, The Sunday Times Magazine – ‘Carla Bruni”

John Follain, The Sunday Times Magazine – ‘The Knox Family”

Jonathan Green, Live – ‘Sudan Oil”

Jonathan Green, Live – ‘Dirty Secret of NHS”

Sally Gainsbury, Health Service Journal – ‘NHS underspends by £1.8bn”

Steve Nowottny, Pulse – ‘Out of Hours Care”

Feature Writer of the Year

Ariel Leve, The Sunday Times Magazine

Dan Davies, Esquire

Dan McDougall, Observer Magazine

James Mitchell Crow, Chemistry World

Justin Quirk, FHM

Kathy Brewis, Sunday Times Magazine

Interviewer of the Year

Jeff Maysh, Loaded

Jon Wilde, Live

Lesley White, The Sunday Times Magazine

Louise Gannon, Live

Melanie Stern, Financial Director

Olga Craig, Seven

Tim Hulse, Business Life

Columnist of the Year

Dylan Stiles, Chemistry World

John Simpson, High Life

Justin Pollard, Engineering & Technology

Michael Hodges, Time Out

Piers Morgan, Live

Rebecca Newman, The London Magazine

News Reporter of the Year

Dan Drillsma-Milgrom, Local Government Chronicle

David Singleton, PR Week

Geoff Brumfiel, Nature

Lilian Anekwe, Pulse

Sally Gainsbury, Health Service Journal

Steve Nowottny, Pulse

Business Reporter of the Year

Charlotte Santry, Health Service Journal

Crispin Dowler, Inside Housing

Dan Stewart, Building

Nigel Praities, Pulse

Nina Goswami, The Lawyer

Richard van Noorden, Chemistry World

Sarah Richardson, Building

Stuart Macdonald, Building

Production Team of the Year


Jane’s Information Group


Sainsbury’s Magazine

The Sunday Times Travel Magazine


Reviewer of the year

Andrew Billen, The London Magazine

Adam Thirlwell, Esquire

Guy Dimond, Time Out

James Martin, Live

Rob Waugh, Live

Tom Parker Bowles, Live

William Wiles, Icon

Digital Journalist of the Year

Paul Grant, Accountancy Age Young Professional

Tom Hawkins, Chemist and Druggist

Tony Collins, Computer Weekly

Zoe Smeaton, Chemist and Druggist

Editor of the Year

Ed Grenby, The Sunday Times Travel Magazine

David Burton, Camouflage

Lorraine Candy, Elle

Tony Chambers, Wallpaper

Stuart Knott, Contact

Susannah Pearce, Your Family