PPA unveils shortlist for 2003 magazine awards

Glamour, Chat, Heat, Now, Community Care and The Publican are among the titles shortlisted in magazine of the year categories in this year’s PPA awards.

The Periodical Publishers Association revealed the shortlists – which include Press Gazette editor Ian Reeves in the business writer of the year category – after seeing nearly 900 entries.

The presenter of Live and BBC One’s Fame Academy, Patrick Kielty, will present the awards at a ceremony on 7 May at Grosvenor House, London’s Park Lane.

Consumer magazine: Chat; Now; Ideal Home; FHM; Heat; Red; Glamour and Radio Times.

Consumer specialist magazine: Another Magazine; ei8ht; New Consumer; New Scientist; SFX, Toxic and Uncut.

International consumer magazine: House & Garden; Maxim; Uncut; The World of Interiors and World Soccer.

Customer magazine: Animal Action; Army; United Review; Boots Health and Beauty; Volvo Magazine; Business Edge; Homelife; Sky The Magazine; Waitrose Food Illustrated.

Interactive Consumer Magazine: Computer and Video Games (www.computerandvideogames.com), Dennis; Cross Stitching (www.cross-stitching.com), Origin; FHM (www.fhm.com), Emap; Hello! (www.hellomagazine.com), Hello!; Men’s Health (www.menshealth.co.uk), Rodale; New Scientist (www.newscientist.com), Reed Business Information; NME (www.nme.com), IPC Ignite!; Radio Times (www.radiotimes.com), BBC Worldwide.

Editor of the Year (consumer): Jo Elvin, Glamour; Jane Ennis, Now; Mark Frith, Heat; Allan Jones, Uncut; Paul Merrill, Chat; Orlando Murrin, BBC Good Food; Marie O’Riordan, Marie Claire; Jane Parbury, Ideal Home; Neil Patrick, Yours.

Publisher of the Year (consumer): Karen Borsberry-Woods, Digital Photo; James Carter, FHM; Sarah Fisher, Now; Eric Fuller, Uncut; Justine Southall, Company; Louise Matthews, Heat; Ashley Munday, Radio Times; Yvonne Ramsden, Ideal Home; Neil Robinson, NME. Specialist writer of the year (consumer): Tony Parsons, GQ; Clarissa Hyman, Country Living Magazine; Jeremy Clarkson, Top Gear; Paul Mahoney, Golf World; Andrew Jefford; Waitrose Food Illustrated; Robert Matthews, Focus; Adrian Tierney-Jones, The Field.

Writer of the year (consumer): E Jane Dickson, Radio Times; Kate Finnegan, Elle; Graham Lawton, New Scientist; AA Gill, GQ; Martin Deeson, GQ; Harriet Green, Harpers & Queen.

Designer of the year (consumer): Simon Brown, Jack; Steve Neaves, Maxim; Brian Saffer, Waitrose Food Illustrated; Jo Sams, Elle; Geoff Waring, Glamour; Lynn Watt, Volvo Magazine; Peter Winterbottom, Condé Nast Traveller.

Business & Professional magazine: Building; Community Care; Farmer’s Guardian; The Grocer; Investment Week; Management Today; Nursery World; The Publican; Retail Week.

International Business Magazine: The Banker, Jane’s Defence Weekly, Media & Marketing Europe, Meed, Portfolio International, Risk, Screen International.

Interactive Business Magazine: Accountancy Age; Estates Gazette; Independent Retail News; Meed; Nursing Times; PC Pro; Personnel Today; Total Telecom.

Editor of the year (business & professional): Adrian Barrick, Building; Denise Chevin, Housing Today; Andy Cook, Insurance Times; Colin Cooper, GP; Eric Musgrave, Draper’s Record; Polly Neate, Community Care; Richard Siddle, Independent Retail News.

Publisher of the year (business & professional): Celine Connell, Risk; Penny Guest, Property Week; James Hanbury, Multi Manager; Jeremy Knight, Real Deals; Quentine Long, MIS UK; Steve Newbold, Draper’s Record; Eddie O’Sullivan, Meed; Nick Rapley, Investment Week.

Columnist of the year (business & professional): Daniel Allen, Nursing Standard; Dr Tony Copperfield, Doctor; Jeremy Bullmore, Management Today; Jon Honeyball, PC Pro; Guy Smith, Arable Farming; Evan Davis, Moneywise.

Writer of the year (business & professional): Katherine Bateson, Intra; Ian Reeves, Press Gazette; James Hooker, Lighting Equipment News; Sean Barry, Construction News; Giles Barrie, Property Week; Marcus Fairs, Building; Nicole Pedersen-McKinnon, Money Management; Neil Hallows, BMA News.

Designer of the year (business & professional): Nick Bell, Eye; Matt Crane, Interior Motives; Esterson Lackersteen & Jon Hill, Intra; Jim McClure, Reuters Magazine; John Poile, Director; Henry Redman, Nikon Pro; Jason Simmons, Mac User.

Editorial campaign of the year: “Action Week 2002”, Independent Retail News; “Byers Beware”, Property Week; “Changing Minds”, Community Care; “Give A Dog a Home”, The Field; “Nurses’ Pay”, Nursing Standard; “One Strike and You’re Out”, Chat; “Refugees in Employment”, Personnel Today.

Publisher of the year (for companies with fewer than 50 employees): Kath Acres, New Start; Lisa Doerr, French Magazine; Ken Finlayson, Dentistry; Andy Ford, Ace Tennis Magazine; Tony Harris, Sailing Today; Alan Whibley, Farm Business.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *