Northern Ireland's finest

The BBC’s
Kevin Magee has been named Northern Ireland’s journalist of the year at
the CIPR/BT Press and Broadcast Awards for 2004.

Nineteen awards were handed out in a ceremony at the Europa Hotel, Belfast, in front of more than 400 guests.

the TV current affairs broadcast winner, also won the overall award for
current affairs broadcaster of the year – competing against radio
current affairs broadcast winner Andy Martin, a BBC colleague.

judges said: “Kevin is an impressive story-teller, whose entry
demonstrated both compassion for the victims of injustice and a dogged
determination to uncover its perpetrators.”

In the newspaper of
the year category, The Irish News was named best daily and overall
winner, beating Sunday newspaper winner the Sunday World.

Ken Reid, the TV news broadcast winner, won the news broadcaster award.
Runner-up was radio news broadcast winner Claire Savage.

sports journalist winner Gavin Mairs, of The Belfast Telegraph, fought
off competition from broadcast sports journalist winner Nigel Ringland
to take the overall sports journalist award.

Broadcast business
journalist winner Jamie Delargy, of UTV, won the business journalist
award. Print business journalist winner David Gordon, of The Belfast
Telegraph, was runner-up.

In the young journalist category, the
Martin O’Hagan Memorial Bursary went to print young journalist winner
Sinead McCavana of Sunday Life. The Gary Gillatt has been appointed
deputy editor of Inside Soap, having been promoted from deputy chief

He takes up the position with immediate effect,
replacing Wendy Granditer who has left after six years to join Reveal
as assistant editor.

Gillatt began his career in 1994 at Marvel UK, where he was editor of Doctor Who Magazine.

He moved to tvhits! in 2000 as production editor before joining Inside Soap in 2000, runner-up was broadcast young journalist winner Declan Lawn of the BBC.

winner Northern Women beat 2004’s best supplement – The Irish News’s
Metro – to take the prize for magazine/supplement of the year.

specialist journalist winner Sharon O’Neill of The Irish News beat
broadcast specialist journalist winner Mike McKimm of the BBC to the
specialist journalist award.

The other winners were:

● Weekly newspaper: The Impartial Reporter

● News/current affairs programme: UTV Insight – When Hospitals Kill

● Website:

● News journalist: Marie Louise McCrory, The Irish News

● Weekly news journalist: Ruth Loney, Lurgan Mail

● Feature writer: Gail Walker, The Belfast Telegraph

● Newspaper photographer: Peter Morrison, Sunday World/freelance

● Cameraman/crew: Blaine Scott, UTV

●Newspaper production journalist: John Harding, Mirror Group Newspapers

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *