Newbury takes NS award honours

By Colin Crummy

The Newbury Weekly News has been named Paid-for Weekly Newspaper of
the Year at the Newspaper Society’s Weekly Newspaper Awards 2005.

Archant’s, The Hunts Post, won the Free Weekly Newspaper of the Year.

Weekly News chairman Jeremy Willis, whose family founded the
independent newspaper in 1867, said of its award: “I am very proud that
we have received such an accolade from within the industry.

are well known in newspaper circles for our quality of editorial, our
recent investment in print resources and for our independence. We
strive for the highest standards on a daily basis and the recent
increase in our circulation figures show that our readers are of a
similar opinion.”

The Hunts Post editor, Paul Richardson, said:
“I think this demonstrates the great consistency of The Hunts Post over
a long period of time.

Our mantra has always been that we are a paid-for newspaper that happens to be free, and that means our standards remain high.

is great to see this recognised by the Newspaper Society and these
awards, which are definitely the Oscars of the weekly newspaper

The newspapers were selected as overall UK winners from the 11 regional award recipients.

Regional picked up nine awards, including two awards for The North
Somerset Times, a free title, won for Most Unusual and/or Successful
Revenue-producing Idea, and Newspaper Community Award. Its sister title
the Weston & Somerset Mercury won the equivalent award in the
paidfor category. Archant Regional MD Nigel Websper said: “What a
night. We had two Archant tables and the awards and bottles of
Champagne were just piling up.

“It was our best-ever haul and enormous credit goes to the publications and the individuals and teams behind them.”

news journalist on a paid for weekly was James Holt of the North
Shropshire Chronicle and best news journalist on a free weekly was
Louisa Barnett of the Borehamwood & Elstree Times.

The best
features journalist award went to Jenni Frazer of The Jewish Chronicle
(paid for) and Laura Vickers of the Sutton Coldfield Observer (free).

photographer in a paid for title went to Ed Godden of the Reading
Chronicle and best photographer in a free weekly went to Gemma Marriner
of the News Guardian& News Post Leader.

David Newell, director of the Newspaper Society, received the Clarksons special award.

This is a discretionary honour that recognises an individual who has made a significant contribution to the industry.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *