London Press Club Awards shortlists revealed

The shortlists have been announced for this year’s London Press Club Awards.

Two new categories have been added this year: daily and Sunday newspaper of the year. Shortlisted are: Daily newspaper of the year: Daily Mail; Daily Mirror; The Independent.

Sunday newspaper of the year: News of the World; The Observer; The Sunday Times.

Scoop of the year: David Leppard and Robert Winnett, The Sunday Times; David McGhee, News of the World; Ryan Parry, Daily Mirror.

Edgar Wallace Trophy (for fine writing): Simon Barnes, The Times; Ross Benson, Daily Mail; Alan Watkins, The Independent on Sunday.

Business journalist of the year: Ian King, The Sun; Anthony Hilton, Evening Standard; William Lewis, The Sunday Times.

Robert Edwards, former editor of the Daily Express and Sunday Mirror, has stood down after 20 years as chairman of the judges and has been replaced by Philippa Kennedy, former editor of Press Gazette.

British Gas sponsors the awards and the winners will be revealed at the awards lunch at the Savoy in London on 5 May. Conservative leader Michael Howard will be guest speaker and the awards will be introduced by BBC political editor Andrew Marr.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *