London Press Club Awards 2011: the shortlist

Three newspapers have made the shortlist for Daily Newspaper of the Year at this year’s London Press Club Awards – but there is no place for Press Awards newspaper of the year The Guardian.

The Daily Mail, Evening Standard and The Times all made the cut, while the Mail on Sunday, News of the World and Sunday Telegraph battle it out for Sunday Newspaper of the Year.

The Daily Mirror, Evening Standard, BBC and News of the World each received two nominations overall.

Scoop of the Year nominees are the Daily Mirror’s ‘Secret Life of Jon Venables’, the News of the World’s cricket corruption investigation, and The Sunday Times’ ‘World Cup Cash for Votes Scandal’.

Sky News correspondent Alex Crawford – the only broadcaster to win three Royal Television Society Journalist of the Year Awards – is among the nominees for Broadcast Journalist of the Year.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony held at the London Press Club on 11 May.

Full list of nominees for the London Press Club Awards 2011:

Daily Newspaper

  • Daily Mail
  • Evening Standard
  • The Times

Sunday Newspaper of the Year

  • Mail on Sunday
  • News of the World
  • Sunday Telegraph

Scoop of the Year

  • Cricket Corruption – News of the World
  • Secret Life of Jon Venables – Daily Mirror
  • World Cup: Cash for Votes Scandal – Sunday Times

Consumer Journalist of the Year

  • Paul Farrow – Sunday Telegraph
  • Tricia Phillips – Daily Mirror
  • Jeff Prestridge – Mail on Sunday

Business Journalist of the Year

  • Chris Blackhurst – Evening Standard
  • Stephanie Flanders – BBC
  • Allister Heath – City AM

Broadcast Journalist of the Year

  • Alex Crawford – Sky
  • Orla Guerin – BBC
  • Bill Neely – ITN

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *