Live coverage: British Press Awards 2008

Jon Snow presenting the British Press Awards

The 2008 British Press Awards will be held tonight at the Grosvenor House hotel in London.

Channel 4 News presenter Jon Snow will present the winners from the shortlist that was published last month.

Full results will appear here from 9pm.

For those who can’t even wait for the first blog post, the winners will be announced live, 140 characters at a time, on Press Gazette’s Twitter feed.

The first few winners have now been announced:

Young Journalist of the Year: Kate Mansey, Sunday Mirror

Cartoonist of the Year
Matt Pritchett, Daily Telegraph and Sunday Telegraph

Critic of the Year
Charles Spencer, Daily Telegraph

Digital Journalist of the Year
Sean Smith, Guardian.co.uk

Interviewer of the Year
Chrissy Iley, freelance

Showbiz Reporter of the Year
Sean Hamilton, Sunday Mirror

Photographer of the Year
Jeremy Selwyn, Evening Standard

Sports Photographer of the Year
Andy Hooper, Daily Mail

Sports Journalist of the Year
Martin Samuel, The Times

Supplement of the Year
Shared by You and Live, both from the Mail on Sunday

Political Journalist of the Year
Philip Stevens, Financial Times

Foreign Reporter of the Year
Ghaith Abdul-Ahad, The Guardian

Reporter of the Year
Tom Newton Dunn, The Sun

11:05: The final set of awards have now been announced. International Journalist of the Year goes to International Journalist of the Year is Emadeddin Baghi of the Iranian newspaper Jomhooriyat. Andrew Gilligan of the Evening Standard wins the overall Journalist of the Year Award, and the Financial Times is crowned Newspaper of the Year. A Press Gazette Special Award goes to Associated Newspapers editor-in-chief Paul Dacre, recognising his two decades as editor of the Evening Standard and Daily Mail, launching Metro and his work on the Press Complaints Commission.

Andrew Gilligan recieves the Journalist of the Year award from David Cameron

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *