Kent Messenger reporter named Kent Journalist of the Year


Kent Messenger reporter Paul Francis was named Kent Journalist of the Year at an awards lunch held in Faversham on Friday.

Francis, who also collected the Best Newspaper Journalist of the Year award, was described by judges as ‘exhibiting integrity, bravery and a passion for the area he serves, working to the highest standards.”

The awards were judged by a panel comprising former BBC Radio Kent broadcaster Barbara Sturgeon; Kim Fletcher, former editorial director of the Telegraph Group and chairman of the NCTJ; Tim Luckhurst, professor of journalism at the University of Kent and a former editor of The Scotsman; and Justin Allen, from the sports desk of The Sun and the News of the World.


  • Shepherd Neame Kent Journalist of the Year – Paul Francis, Kent Messenger
  • Kent’s Best Newspaper Journalist of the Year – Paul Francis, Kent Messenger
  • Highly Commended – Yamurai Zendera – Dover Express
  • W F Deedes Kent Young Journalist of the Year – Katie Alston, Kentish Gazette
  • Highly Commended – Simon Tulett – Gravesend Messenger
  • Bishops Finger Kent Broadcast Journalist of the Year – Robin Gibson, BBC South East Today
  • Highly Commended – Ria Chatterjee, BBC South East Today
  • Master Brew Kent Feature Journalist of the Year – Daniel Keel, News Shopper
  • Spitfire Kent Sports Journalist of the Year – Glenn Garrett, Courier Media Group
  • Highly Commended – Jonathan Harvey, Courier Media Group
  • Canterbury Jack Campaign of the Year – Gravesend Messenger
  • Shepherd Neame News Service of the Year – News Shopper
  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Ron Green, Kent Messenger

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *