Journalists' names on university 'memorial' to 'those who denied' climate change

Melanie Phillips, James Delingpole and Christopher Booker have been recognised for their work on climate change at Anglia Ruskin University.

A 2.2m-tall memorial features the names of these journalists, who it labels as climate change deniers. They appear, alongside three politicians, under the title: “Lest We Forget Those Who Denied”.

Phillips is a comment writer who had a longstanding column with the Daily Mail, James Delingpole is a freelance journalist and writer and Christopher Booker writes a weekly column for the Sunday Telegraph.

An Anglia Ruskin press release described the construction – which also features the names of Nigel Lawson, Christopher Monckton and Owen Paterson – as “an ‘oil painting’ with a difference”, because “a constant stream of engine oil runs over” it.

The work, by third year fine art student Ian Wolter, won the university’s 2015 Sustainability Art Prize.

Wolter said: “With this work I envisage a time when the deliberate denial of climate change will be seen as a crime because it hinders progress towards a low carbon future.” 

Dr Aled Jones, director of Anglia Ruskin’s Global Sustainability Institute, said: “The winner was chosen because of the way they approached their subject by bringing together a powerful message with a beautiful piece of art.

“The oil waterfall sculpture could be viewed in decades to come as a monument to a period of history that saw scientific knowledge battle to be heard above political ideologies.”

The work is made of plywood and will be on display until the middle of May.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *