Johnson and Merrill up for BSME's top award

Chat’s Paul Merrill and The Spectator’s Boris Johnson have been shortlisted for the BSME Editor’s Editor of the Year award, writes Ruth Addicott.

Commenting on his rival, Merrill – who is being held to his contract by IPC as he prepares to join Emap – quipped: “I’m glad to see the BSME is recognising downmarket trash mags like The Spectator as well as literary and political giants like Chat.”

Also on the shortlist are Jane Bruton (Eve), Jeremy O’Grady (The Week), Katharine Viner (Guardian Weekend), Jo Elvin (Glamour) and Allan Jones (Uncut). Other shortlists include: Contract magazines (business): Dawn Cowie, Business Voice; Jonathan Dandy, Talking Business; Tim Hulse, Business Life; Geraint John, Supply Management; Morice Mendoza, RSA Journal.

Contract magazines (consumer): Ian Belcher, Heritage Today; Peter Buhlmann, Home; Nigel Evans, The London Magazine; Diane Kenwood, Marks & Spencer Magazine; Dan Linstead, O magazine; Scott Morgan, United Review; Darius Sanai; Savoy Style; William Sitwell, Waitrose Food Illustrated; Sam Upton, Army; Deirdre Vine, Theatregoer.

Lifestyle: Susan Crewe, House & Garden; Suzanne Imre, Living etc; Rachel Loos, Elle Decoration; Sarah Miller, Condé Nast Traveller; Orlando Murrin, BBC Good Food; Alison Pylkkanen, Zest; Susy Smith, Country Living.

Special interest: Dylan Armbrust, Personal Computer World; Adam Duckworth, Motorcycle News; Max Everingham, Official Xbox Magazine; Paul Hamblin, Today’s Golfer; Allan Jones, Uncut; Martyn Moore, Classic Cars; Liz Savage, Brides.

Youth & children’s: Sarah Delmege, Go Girl; Celia Duncan, CosmoGIRL!; Helen Johnston, Bliss; Sam McEroy, Girl Talk; Corinna Shaffer, Top of the Pops; Lisa Smosarski, Smash Hits. The awards will be held at a dinner at the London Hilton, Park Lane, on 24 November.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *