Johann Hari picks up Martha Gellhorn Prize

Independent journalist Johann Hari has been named as the winner of the Martha Gellhorn Prize for Journalism.

Hari submitted three  articles:  One examined the social problems behind the facade of a recession-hit Dubai; another looked at former British jihadists; and for the third he travelled to Greenland to experience climate change first hand.

The prize is £5,000. Previous winners of the prize include: Ian Cobain of The Guardian, Hala Jaber of The Sunday Times, Michael Tierney of the Glasgow Herald, Robert Fisk of The Independent, Gaith Abdul Ahad of The Guardian and Patrick Cockburn of The Independent.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *