Investigative site Exaro News among nominations for Orwell Prize political journalism award

Investigative journalism website Exaro News has secured a nomination for this year's Orwell Prize for political writing for the first time.
The site's David Hencke, a former Guardian political correspondent, is one of 15 journalists who feature on the longlist for this year's prize, out of 167 entries.
Four Guardian journalists appear on the nominations list for the journalism prize. The judges are Paul Anderson, Robin Lustig and Michael Parks and the winner will be announced on 21 May and will receive a £3,000 prize.
Orwell Prize director Professor Jean Seaton said “As always, the judges for the journalism prize were immensely heartened by the sheer quality of journalism entered.
"By focusing on individual journalists, voices and stories became clearer. The judging process really disproves the gloom that surrounds contemporary journalism. The judges were also keen to recognise the journalistic innovation of Exaro News.”
Journalism Prize longlist: 
Ghaith Abdul-Ahad, The Guardian 
James Astill, The Economist 
Aditya Chakrabortty, The Guardian 
David Cohen, London Evening Standard 
Matthew Engel, Financial Times 
Jonathan Freedland, The Guardian 
AA Gill, The Sunday Times 
David Hencke, Exaro News 
Anthony Loyd, The Times 
Suzanne Moore, The Guardian 
Caitlin Moran, The Times 
Peter Oborne, The Daily Telegraph 
Gideon Rachman, Financial Times 
Mary Riddell, The Daily Telegraph 
Paul Wood, BBC, The Spectator



Press Gazette's weekly email providing strategic insight into the future of the media

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *