Guild of Agricultural Journalists calling for award entries

The British Guild of Agricultural Journalists is calling for entries into the Stuart Seaton Award, which recognises reporting of farming and rural affairs.

In addition to an individual award, the guild will also crown a Regional Newspaper of the Year for agricultural coverage.

“Regional publications that devote some of their pages to farming and rural affairs coverage provide an important role in keeping non-farming readers and rural communities informed about the national and local issues that may affect their lives and livelihoods,” said Louise Impey, awards secretary.

“We are keen to celebrate that role by attracting as many entries as possible for this award and judging who provided the best coverage in 2012.”

Last year Heather Jones (pictured), who writes for Shropshire Newspapers won the Stuart Seaton Award.

Entrants do not need to be a member of the guild and more information for submission, which has a 22 February deadline, can be found at www.gaj.org.uk.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *