Guardian writers dominate 2011 Orwell Prize shortlist

Four Guardian writers have been shortlisted for this year’s Orwell Prize for political journalism.

This year’s seven-strong shortlist – up from six in previous years – also includes writers from Time magazine, the Financial Times and Granta.

This year’s judges are Jewish Chronicle political editor Martin Bright and the author and journalist Michela Wrong, who has been shortlisted for the Orwell book prize three times.

Director of the Orwell Prize Jean Seaton, said: “Wikileaks has shown how vital journalism is to creating public knowledge out of facts, and this year’s shortlist covers the strengths of modern reporting, out on the streets of Britain and the world, witnessing and telling important stories – and then the other end, judging, provoking, thinking.”

Seven bloggers have been shortlisted for the 2011 blog prize which will judged by David Allen Green – who was shortlisted for the same prize in 2011 – and the former political editor of The Observer, Gaby Hinsliff.

The Orwell Prize shortlists are:

Journalism Prize:

Philip Collins – The Times

Amelia Gentleman – The Guardian

Catherine Mayer – TIME

Gideon Rachman – Financial Times

Jenni Russell – Sunday Times; The Guardian

Rachel Shabi – The Guardian

Declan Walsh – The Guardian; Granta

Blog Prize:

Cath Elliott –

Daniel Hannan –

Duncan McLaren –

Graeme Archer –

Heresiarch –

Molly Bennett –

Paul Mason –

Book Prize:

Tom Bingham – The Rule of Law

Oliver Bullough – Let Our Fame Be Great: Journeys Among the Defiant People of the Caucasus

Helen Dunmore – The Betrayal

Christopher Hitchens – Hitch-22

Afsaneh Moqadam – Death to the Dictator

DR Thorpe – Supermac: The Life of Harold MacMillan

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony at Church House, Westminster, on 17 May.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *