Guardian is newspaper of the year

The Guardian has been crowned British Press Awards newspaper of the year.

The award, judged for the first time by an academy of more than 130 senior figures in journalism, recognises the success of the switch to Berliner format. It is, according to the judges “a newspaper package that exudes confidence”.

The event at the Dorchester Hotel saw other notable winners including the Daily Mirror taking scoop of the year for its ‘Cocaine Kate’ expose of Kate Moss, and arch-rival The Sun winning front page of the year with ‘Harry the Nazi’. The Sun’s Oliver Harvey was reporter of the year. In all, nine of the 21 awards went to tabloids.

There were four awards for the Sunday Times (cartoonist, specialist reporter, foreign reporter and feature writer).

Two journalists retained their crowns from last year: the Mirror’s Oliver Holt (sports reporter of the year) and the Sunday Times’s foreign reporter of the year Hala Jaber.

There was also one freelance winner: Edmond Terakopian, whose images from the July 7 London bombings made front pages around the world.

The Winners

1. Scoop of the Year

Stephen Moyes for Cocaine Kate Daily Mirror

2. Business and Finance Journalist of the Year

Hamish McRae The Independent

3. Show Business Writer of the Year

Victoria Newton The Sun

4. Columnist of the Year

Lucy Kellaway Financial Times

5. Supplement of the Year

Observer Food Monthly The Observer

6. Photographer of the Year

Edmond Terakopian Freelance

7. Interviewer of the Year

Rachel Cooke The Observer

8. Cartoonist of the Year

Gerald Scarfe The Sunday Times

9. Specialist Writer of the Year

Michael Smith The Sunday Times

10. Young Journalist of the Year

(The winner of this award also receives a £5,000 travel bursary presented by the Cecil King Memorial Foundation)

Lucy Bannerman The Herald

11. The Cudlipp Award –

This is an award for editors, writers or teams of journalists for excellence in popular journalism. It’s given In memory of Hugh Cudlipp and sponsored by the British Journalism Review.

News of the World for ‘What about the Victims’

12. Foreign Reporter of the Year

Hala Jaber The Sunday Times

Note: Hala Jaber also won this award last year.

13. Sports Photographer of the Year

Tom Jenkins The Guardian

14. Sports Journalist of the Year

Oliver Holt Daily Mirror

Note: Oliver Holt also won this award last year.

15. Critic of the Year

Jay Rayner The Observer

16. Team of the Year

Daily Mirror 7/7 team

17. Political Journalist of the Year

Francis Elliott Independent on Sunday

18. Feature Writer of the Year

Bryan Appleyard The Sunday Times

19. Reporter of the Year

Oliver Harvey The Sun

20. Front Page of the Year

Harry the Nazi The Sun

21. National Newspaper of the Year 2006

The Guardian

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *