Guardian dominates Orwell Prize journalism longlist

The Guardian dominates the longlist for this year’s Orwell Prize for political journalism with three nominations.

Ian Cobain and Amelia Gentleman join Paul Lewis, who earlier this week collected a British Press Award, on the longlist which has been extended from 12 to 14 entries.

“This year’s longlist shows a distinct trend towards reportage and investigative journalism, notable scoops including Ian Cobain on torture, Paul Lewis on policing and the G20 and Cathy Newman with various UK politics stories,” prize founders The Media Standards Trust said.

The Independent, the Times and Standpoint magazine follow with two nominations each for the journalism prize, while the Mail on Sunday‘s Peter Hitchens is longlisted for the third time in four years.

The longlist was unveiled last night, along with longlists for the blogging and books prizes, last night at the Oxford Literary Festival.

Following last year’s blog prize victory for secret policeman Jack Night, two pseudonymous public servants have been longlisted for this year’s prize – policewoman, PC Ellie Bloggs and social worker, Winston Smith.

This year’s shortlists will be announced on Thursday 15t April.

Journalism Prize longlist:

Arlidge, John – Sunday Times (Magazine; News Review)

Cobain, Ian – Guardian; G2

Foreman, Jonathan – Standpoint

Gentleman, Amelia – Guardian (G2)

Hitchens, Peter – Mail on Sunday

Lewis, Paul – Guardian

Loyd, Anthony – Standpoint; The Times

McRae, Hamish – Independent

Newman, Cathy – Channel 4 News

Ostrovsky, Arkady – Economist; Foreign Policy

Philp, Catherine – Times

Reynolds, David – BBC (Radio 4, News online)

Riddell, Mary – Daily Telegraph

Verkaik, Robert – Independent; The Independent on Sunday

The Book Prize longlist:

Beckett, Andy – When the Lights Went Out – Faber

Chikwava, Brian – Harare North – Jonathan Cape

Cohen, Nick – Waiting for the Etonians – Fourth Estate

De Bellaigue, Christopher – Rebel Land – Bloomsbury

Edwards, Ruth Dudley – Aftermath – Harvill Secker

Gappah, Petina – Elegy for Easterly – Faber/Straus and Giroux

Gardner, David – Last Chance – I. B. Tauris

Gillies, Andrea – Keeper – Short Books

Hunt, Tristram – Frock-Coated Communist – Allen Lane

Kampfner, John – Freedom for Sale – Simon & Schuster

Malik, Kenan – From Fatwa to Jihad – Atlantic Books

Maric, Vesna – Bluebird: A Memoir – Granta Books

O’Toole, Fintan – Ship of Fools – Faber

Peel, Michael – A Swamp Full of Dollars – I. B. Tauris

Wheeler, Sara – The Magnetic North – Jonathan Cape

Wilkinson & Pickett – The Spirit Level – Allen Lane

Wilson, Ben – What Price Liberty? – Faber

Wrong, Michela – It’s Our Turn to Eat – Fourth Estate

Blog Prize longlist:

David Osler – Dave’s Part (

David Smith – Letter from Africa (

Gideon Rachman – rachmanblog (

Hopi Sen – Hopi Sen (

Iain Dale – Iain Dale’s Diary (

Jack of Kent – Jack of Kent (

Laurie Penny – Penny Red and others (

Madam Miaow – Madam Miaow Says (

Mary Beard – A Don’s Life (

Morus –; Daily Kos (;

PC Ellie Bloggs – A Twenty-First Century Police Officer (

Ray – The Bad Old Days Will End (

Tim Marshall – Foreign Matters (

Winston Smith – Working with the Underclass (

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *