Guardian and Wall Street Journal Europe triumph in business journalism awards

The Wall Street Journal Europe eclipsed UK-grown competition by
taking six prizes at the Business Journalist of the Year Awards.
There was another turn-up when the Guardian beat specialist business titles to the prize of newspaper of the year.
The awards were presented at the Guildhall in London on Wednesday night.
The awards are organised by the US-based World
Leadership Forum and are overseen by a committee of the UK’s top
financial editors.
The winners were:
Best Broadcast Story
Liam Halligan for How safe is your pension – Channel 4 News
Best Story on Banking
Bethany McLean for Goldman Sachs: inside the money machine – Fortune
Best Story on Business Leadership
Chip Cummins & Almar Latour for New age management couldn’t help Shell solve old problems – The Wall Street Journal Europe
Best Story on a Company
Alessandra Galloni & Yaroslav Trofimov for Tanzi’s power games
helped Parmalat rise, but did not cushion fall – The Wall Street
Journal Europe
Best Story on Economics
Greg Ip for How US Fed chairman deftly steered economy through thick and thin – The Wall Street Journal Europe
Best Story on Entrepreneurship
Daniel Roth for Catch us if you can – Fortune
Best Story on Fast-Moving Consumer Goods
Betsy Morris for The real story – Fortune
Best Story on an Industry
Richard Morais for Prozac nation: is the party over? – Forbes
Best Story on a Merger, Acquisition or Flotation
Ann Davis for UBS investment banker carves out a rich niche within US health care – The Wall Street Journal Europe
Best Story on Personal Finance
Janice Revell for The $366 billion outrage – Fortune
Best Feature Writer
Richard Tomlinson – Fortune
Best Opinion or Editorial Writer
James Surowiecki – The New Yorker
Magazine of the Year
Best News Reporter
Chip Cummins – The Wall Street Journal Europe
Best Feature Writer
Chris Blackhurst – Evening Standard
Best Opinion or Editorial Writer
Martin Dickson – Financial Times
Newspaper of the Year
The Guardian
Broadcast Journalist of the Year
Michael Wilson – Sky News

Online Journalist of the Year
Shai Oster – Dow Jones Newswires
Paul Steiger – The Wall Street Journal
Martin Dickson – Financial Times
No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *