FT pair win business accolades

Tomkins, right, receives his award from WLF president Malcolm Turner

Richard Tomkins of the Financial Times scooped the top prize at the Business Journalist of the Year awards. His FT colleague, Martin Wolf, was presented with the Decade of Excellence Award for his outstanding business journalism over the past 10 years.

Organised by the World Leadership Forum, the awards are designed to recognise the growing importance of business journalism in the information age and to encourage accurate and fair reporting of issues important to both the business community and the public.

This year’s diverse shortlisted topics ranged from corruption in racing to TV audiences tiring of commercials, Argentina’s currency crisis, Ryanair aiming to be Europe’s biggest carrier, Formula 1’s sponsorship drought and The Business of Being Oprah.

Other award winners were: Best Marketing, Branding and Design Submission: Richard Tomkins, Financial Times.

Best Retail Submission: Mark Gimein, Fortune.

Best Banking Submission: Richard Northedge, The Business.

Best Broadcast Submission: Evan Davis, BBC.

Best Corporate Finance Submission: Michael Hoare, Financial News.

Best Fast-Moving Consumer Goods Submission: Deborah Orr, Forbes Global.

Best Information Technology Submission: Richard Morais, Forbes Global.

Best Insurance Submission: John Waples and Paul Durman, The Sunday Times.

Best Leisure, Entertainment and Hotels Submission: Rupert Steiner and Rory Godson, The Sunday Times.

Best Management and Business Education Submission: John-Paul Flintoff, Financial Times.

Best Manufacturing Submission: Jesse Eisinger, The Wall Street Journal Europe.

Best Personal Finance Submission: Richard Miles, The Times.

Best Service Industry Submission: Juliette Jowit, Financial Times.

Best Telecommunications Submission: Robert Bailhache, The Business.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *