Former sports stars feature in SJA award nominations - Press Gazette

Former sports stars feature in SJA award nominations

Sportsmen turned journalists dominate the nominations for the Sports Journalists’ Association awards, published this morning.

Former England cricket captain Mike Atherton, who now writes for The Times, is nominated for specialist correspondent and sports columnist.

The Times’s Matthew Syed, who played table tennis for Great Britain at the 1992 and 2000 Olympics, is nominated for sports feature writer and sports columnist.

Steve James, the former England and Glamorgan batsman now at the Sunday Telegraph, is nominated for specialist correspondent.

The Daily Telegraph’s Derek Pringle, who played 30 tests for England in the Eighties and Nineties, is nominated jointly with Nick Hoult for sports story.

And The Sunday Times’s Paul Kimmage, a professional cyclist in the Eighties, is bidding to win sports interviewer for the fifth successive year.

Elsewhere, Sky Sports’ Jeff Stelling is bidding to win sports broadcaster for the fourth successive year, while The Times, Daily Mail, Daily Telegraph and The Guardian are nominated for sportsdesk of the year.

The shortlist for sports writer of the year, decided by sports editors, will be annouced soon.

Regional writer
Mike Aitken – The Scotsman
Philip Buckingham – Hull Daily Mail
Jon Colman – Cumbrian Newspapers
Neil Farrington – Sunday Sun
John Gibson – Evening Chronicle
Amanda Little – Cumbrian Newspapers

Sports programme
Inside Sport – BBC
Olympic Grandstand – BBC
Soccer Saturday – Sky Sports
SportsWeek – BBC Radio
Test Match Special – BBC Radio

Sports diarist
Steve Anglesey – Daily Mirror
David Hills – The Observer
Alan Hubbard – Independent on Sunday
Matt Scott – The Guardian
Charles Sale – Daily Mail
Martyn Ziegler – Press Association

Sports broadcaster
Claire Balding
John Inverdale
Garry Richardson
Jeff Stelling
Adrian Warner

Specialist correspondent
Michael Atherton – The Times
Bill Elliott – Freelance
Steve James – Sunday Telegraph
Chris McGrath – The Independent
Kevin Mitchell – The Observer
Sam Wallace – The Independent

Sports interviewer
Tim Adams – Observer Sport Monthly
Paul Kimmage – Sunday Times
Donald McRae – Guardian
Sue Mott – Freelance
Ian Stafford – Mail on Sunday
Matthew Syed – The Times

Sports cartoonist
Tony Husband – The Times
Kerber & Black – Daily Mirror
Nick Newman – Sunday Times
Steve O’Brien – Mail on Sunday

Sports story
Mihir Bose – BBC – Premier League’s 39th game
Bob Cass – Mail on Sunday – Berbatov for United
Rob Draper/Daniel King – Mail on Sunday – Olympic contracts controversy
Derek Pringle/Nick Hoult – – Pietersen/Moores crisis talks
Ashling O’Connor – The Times – Chinese torch row
Alex Spink – Daily Mirror – Martin Corry/Gavin Henson

Sports betting writer
Gary Boswell – Freelance
John Curle/Kevin Price – Daily Mirror
Derek McGovern – Daily Mirror
Steve Palmer – Racing Post
Kevin Pullein – Racing Post
Dan Roebuck – The Guardian

Sports news reporter
Shaun Custis – The Sun
David Conn – The Guardian
Rob Draper – Mail on Sunday
Peter Jackson – Daily Mail
Charles Sale – Daily Mail
Paul Smith – Sunday Mirror

Sports internet writer
Neil Ashton – Mail Online
Andy Bull –
John Hopkin – Times Online
Jim Munro – Sun Online
Matt Slater –
Bill Wilson – BBC News online

Sports columnist
Michael Atherton – The Times
Simon Barnes – The Times
Patrick Collins – Mail on Sunday
Tom English – Scotland on Sunday
Paul Hayward – Daily Mail
Oliver Holt – Daily Mirror
Marina Hyde – The Guardian
James Lawton – The Independent

Sports feature writer
James Corrigan – The Independent
Donald McRae – The Guardian
Matthew Syed – The Times
Owen Slot – The Times
Alex Wade – Freelance
Richard Williams – The Guardian

Sports team
Daily Mail – Olympics
Daily Telegraph – Olympics
The Guardian – Munich Anniversary
The Guardian – Olympics
The Times – Munich Anniversary
The Times – Olympics

Young sports writer
Oliver Brown – Daily Telegraph
James Ducker – The Times
Mark Hodgkinson – Daily Telegraph
Matt Hughes – The Times
Emma John – Observer Sport Monthly
Duncan White – Sunday Telegraph