Financial journalists in tie for Wincott award

There were two winners in the senior financial journalist category at this year’s Harold Wincott Awards – Paul Murphy of The Guardian and David Smith of The Sunday Times.

The judges said that each writer produced outstandingly interesting work tackling big financial and economic subjects and that they found it impossible to give one precedence over the other.

They said: “David’s weekly column consistently covers big and complex stories, always in a totally accessible style. But he doesn’t stop at exposition: he takes, and ably defends, strong positions.

“Paul Murphy has an almost unerring nose for important stories when they are still emerging.”

The BBC came away with all three broadcasting awards. Mortgage Madness won the best television programme award while Newsnight was named best business news/ current affairs programme. The Radio Broadcast gong went to BBC Radio 4’s The World Tonight.

The Times Business won the accolade of financial journal of the year. It was praised for combining excellent news judgement with need-to-know coverage of the markets, business and the City. The judges called it “A must-read City leader column.”

The Financial Times won two categories: the personal financial journalist award went to Pauline Skypala while Stephanie Kirchgaessner was named young financial journalist of the year.

The awards are named after the distinguished economic commentator and former Financial Times journalist, Harold Wincott, who died in 1969, and have been given out every year since the inaugural ceremony in 1970.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *