Final British Press Awards shortlists announced

The final shortlists have been released for The British Press Awards 2003.

Newspaper of the Year: The Guardian; Daily Mail; Daily Mirror; The Times; The Sunday Times; The Observer.

Front page of the Year: Daily Mirror, “Don’t forget to pack your handbags, dears” (Argentine football team); Sunday Mirror, “Nailed” (chatroom pervert); Daily Mail, “Cherie, a crook and the proof No 10 lied” (Cheriegate e-mails); Evening Standard, “Farewell” (Queen Mother’s funeral); The Mail on Sunday, “Tortured” (Camp X-ray); The Independent, “The world stood still” (ground zero remembered).

Supplement of the Year: M magazine, Daily Mirror; Weekend, The Guardian; Herald Magazine, The Herald; Culture, The Sunday Times; Creative Business, Financial Times; The Game, The Times.

Team of the Year: The Mail on Sunday, Cheriegate reporting team; Daily Mail, Cheriegate team; Financial Times &, Budget coverage; Daily Mirror, Soham; Press Association, death of the Queen Mother; Sunday Mirror, investigation into war veterans exposed to the atom bomb tests.

Scoop of the Year: Blair pushed through deal for Indian billionaire, The Sunday Telegraph; Cheriegate, Daily Mail; Cheriegate, The Mail on Sunday; Edwina Currie’s Diaries, The Times; Paul Burrell, Daily Mirror; Sven and Ulrika Affair, Daily Mirror.

Cartoonist of the Year: David Austin, The Guardian; Gerald Scarfe, The Sunday Times; Jonathan Pugh, The Times; Martin Rowson, The Times; Matt Pritchett, The Daily Telegraph; Steve Bell, The Guardian.

Photographer of the Year: Jeremy Selwyn, Evening Standard; John Giles, Press Association; Stefan Rousseau, Press Association; Colin Mearns, The Herald; David Sandison, The Independent; Timothy Allen, The Independent.

Sports Photographer of the Year: Edward Whitaker, Racing Post; Marc Aspland, The Times; Tom Hevezi, Press Association; Dave Shopland, The Mail on Sunday; Tom Jenkins, The Guardian; Chris Turvey, Daily Mirror.

The Hugh Cudlipp Award is judged separately. A shortlist will be published next week.

Jonathan Freedland was nominated in the Columnist of the Year category for his work for the Daily Mirror and Jewish Chronicle as well as The Guardian.

For table bookings for the ceremony at London’s Hilton Park Lane Hotel on Tuesday 18 March, call organiser Foy Harries on 020 8565 4359, or e-mail

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *