Editors shortlisted for BSME Awards

As nominees are announced for the annual British Society of Media Editors (BSME) Awards, the chairwoman of the awards has withdrawn her name from the Editors’ Editor shortlist as she feels it would be inappropriate.

Sue Peart, who edits The Mail on Sunday ‘s You Magazine, said: “As always, the standard of entry has been incredibly high, with record numbers of entries overall.

“The BSME Committee of 12 editors, representing all areas of our industry, have found the shortlistingprocess very challenging indeed. Our guest panel of judges will now face the difficult task of deciding the eventual winners.”

The awards will be presented at the London Hilton on Monday, 22 November.

Shortlisted for the Editors’ Editor Award are: Jane Bruton, Eve ; Jane Johnson, Closer ; Greg Neale, BBC History Magazine; Alexandra Shulman, Vogue .

Full members of the British Society of Magazine Editors will vote to decide the winner of this award.

In the Editors of the Year categories, the shortlists are as follows: Business and Professional Magazines (non-weekly) : Amanda Baillieu, RIBA Journal ; Marcus Fairs, Icon; Matthew Gwyther, Management Today ; Andrew Sawers, Financial Director ; John Walters, Eye .

Business and Professional Magazines (weekly): Robert Booth, Building Design; Tim Burrowes, Media Week; Phil Johnson, Pulse ; Murdo Morrison, Flight International ; Eric Musgrave, Drapers.

Entertainment Magazines: Mark Frith, Heat ; Christopher Hemblade, Time Out; Gill Hudson, Radio Times ; Allan Jones, Uncut; Colin Kennedy, Empire .

Contract Magazines (business readership): Steve Crabb, People Management ; Tim Hulse, Business Life; Geraint John, Supply Management ; Sean Kearns, Preview ; Eila Rana, FinancialWorld; Andy Robinson,Nikon Pro .

Contract Magazines (consumer readership): Alex Finer, High Life; Michael Jacovides, Carlos ; Diane Kenwood, Marks & Spencer / Your M&S; Scott Morgan, United Review ; Charlotte Mullins, V&A Magazine; William Sitwell, Waitrose Food Illustrated.

General Interest and Current Affairs Magazines: Eric Pooley, Time Magazine Europe; Emma Soames, Saga ; Katherine Walker, Reader’s Digest Magazine.

Lifestyle Magazines: Kerryn Harper, House Beautiful ; Jeremy Langmead, Wallpaper* ; Sarah Miller, Condé Nast Traveller ; AdamPasco, BBC Gardeners’ World; Susy Smith, Country Living.

Men’s Magazines: David Davies, FHM; Dylan Jones, GQ; Anthony Noguera, Arena ; Morgan Rees, Men’s Health ; Simon Tiffin, Esquire .

Newspaper Magazines: Gillian de Bono, How To Spend It Magazine; Michele Lavery, Telegraph Magazine; Gill Morgan, The Times Magazine; Anna Murphy, Sunday Telegraph Magazine; Catherine Ostler, ES Magazine; Katharine Viner, Guardian Weekend.

Special Interest Magazines: Nigel Billen, Ace Tennis ; Lucy Higginson, Horse & Hound; Paul Morgan, Rugby World; Patrick O’Neill, Cheshire Life; Vicky Richardson, Blueprint ; Liz Savage, Condé Nast Brides .

Women’s Magazines (nonweekly): Jane Bruton, Eve ; Louise Chunn, In Style; Sara Cremer, New Woman ; Jo Elvin,Glamour; Alison Hall, More ; Alexandra Shulman, Vogue ; VictoriaWhite, Company .

Women’s Magazines (weekly): Louise Court, Best; John Dale, Take a Break ; Jane Johnson, Closer ; Carole Russell, Woman ; June SmithSheppard, Chat .

Youth and children’s magazines, comics and fanzines: Celia Duncan, CosmoGIRL! ; Claire Irvin, Elle Girl ; Helen Johnston, Bliss Magazine; Sam McEvoy, Girl Talk Special ; Sam McEvoy, Girl Talk.

Website Magazines: Abigail Chisman, CNTraveller.com; Adam Lechmere, decanter.com; Chris Mooney, www.fhm.com; Anthony Thornton, NME.com; Giles Wilson, BBC News Online Magazine.

Launch of the Year: Christine Hayes, Olive ; Phil Hilton, Nuts; Paul Merrill, Zoo; GarethOgden, Custom PC; Tim Southwell, Golf Punk; Ceri Thomas, BBC Easy Gardening.

The Fiona Macpherson New Editor of the Year Award: Marcus Fairs, Icon; Kerryn Harper, House Beautiful ; Gareth Ogden, Custom PC; Morgan Rees, Men’s Health ; Liz Savage, Condé Nast Brides ; Natasha Simmonds, Your Horse ; William Sitwell, Waitrose Food Illustrated; Victoria White, Company .

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *