Deadline looms for 2003 sports journalism awards

Sportswriters have one week left to enter the British Sports Writer and Photographic Awards organised by the Sports Journalists’ Association.

The journalistic categories are: sports columnist, special correspondent, sports feature writer, sports news reporter, regional writer, sports interviewer, sports diarist and sports team.

Titles can enter three journalists in each category, while individual writers can be in no more than two.

Overseen by SJA immediate past chairman Paul Trow, the judging will be conducted by four jury heads: ITV controller of sport Brian Barwick, Press Association sports editor Andy Elliott, Five controller of sport Robert Charles and freelance journalist and broadcaster Philippa Kennedy, former editor of Press Gazette.

In the photographic section only A4-size prints will be accepted for the categories: sports portfolio, specialist portfolio, sport news picture, sports action picture, sports feature picture and the David Worthy Memorial Award (for pictures on cycling).

The sports picture of the year will be selected from all entries by the judges, who will include Monte Fresco.

Entries should be sent to: Sports Writer & Photographer of the Year Awards, Sport England Events, 3rd Floor, Victoria House, Bloomsbury Square, London WC1B 4SE. Closing date is 23 January.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on 8 March.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *