Cream of magazine industry to judge PG awards

Sunday Times Magazine editor Robin Morgan, You editor Sue Peart, Times and Press Gazette columnist Janice Turner, and former Media Week and Campaign Middle East editor Tim Burrowes are among the names assembled so far by Sally O’Sullivan, chair of the judges for the Magazine Journalism Awards and Magazine Design Awards.

Top creative directors including Jan Brown, Simon Esterson, Paul Kurzeja, Jeremy Leslie and Colin McHenry are confirmed as judges for the MDAs.

The newly launched MJAs and the reinvigorated MDAs will be judged in a rigorous two-stage process by more than 50 judges, chosen for their expertise in the editorial and creative arts of magazine publishing.

Panels for each category will vote initially on all entries — and these votes will be aggregated to reach a shortlist of six, to be published in September. Each panel will then meet to discuss the merits if shortlisted entries, and will then vote on them in a secret ballot, from which a winner will emerge.

Winners will be announced on Thursday 26 October at the Riverbank Plaza hotel. The closing date for entries is Friday 8 September. Entry forms can be downloaded from or obtained by calling 020 7936 6420.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *