Celebrating Orwellian style

The Orwell Prize shortlist 2008 has recognised the authors and journalists who have most successfully achieved Orwell’s aim ‘to make political writing into an art”.

A record 181 authors and 54 journalists entered this year.

The winners will be announced at the Foreign Press Association, London, on 24 April.

The shortlist:


Johann Hari – The Independent

Clive James – BBC Radio 4

Anton La Guardia – The Economist

Andrew Rawnsley – The Observer

Mary Riddell – The Daily Telegraph

Paul Vallely – The Independent


Nick Cohen, What’s Left? How Liberals Lost Their Way (Fourth Estate)

Jay Griffiths, Wild: An Elemental Journey (Hamish Hamilton)

William Hague, William Wilberforce: The Life of the Great Anti-Slave Trade Campaigner (Harper Press)

Ed Husain, The Islamist: Why I Joined Radical Islam in Britain, What I Saw Inside and Why I Left (Penguin)

Marina Lewycka, Two Caravans (Fig Tree)

Raja Shehadeh, Palestinian Walks: Notes on a Vanishing Landscape (Profile)

Clive Stafford Smith, Bad Men: Guantanamo Bay and the Secret Prisons (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *