Business Travel Journalism Awards 2009: Full list of winners - Press Gazette

Business Travel Journalism Awards 2009: Full list of winners

The best journalists writing about business travel were honoured last night at the annual Business Travel Journalism Awards.

Now in their sixth year, the awards were judged by nine experts from within the business travel industry, expertly assisted by the editor of Press Gazette.

Despite the economic gloom pervading the business travel industry, like every other part of the economy, organisers Carlson Wagonlit still managed to put on a glittering ceremony at One Whitehall Place in London.

However Andrew Waller, CWT executive vice president for the UK & Ireland, was not too optimistic for the prospects of quick economic recovery in his opening comments. Dismissing the chances of a U-shaped recession, with a quick drop followed by a quick upturn, he said that he expected the economy to “bump along the bottom” for a couple of years before slowly starting to improve.

The ten awards winners are:

Best Newcomer to Business Travel JournalismGemma Sharkey, Freelance

Best Business Travel Supplement – The Times: Business Travel Focus Report

The Innovation Award – Gulliver: The Economist

Meetings & Events Journalist of the Year – Leanne Bell, Conference & Incentive Travel

The Environment Award – David Richardson

Business Travel News Journalist of the Year – Dominic O’Connell, The Sunday Times

Business Travel Features Journalist of the Year – Mark Frary, Freelance

Special Achievement Award – Gillian Upton, The Business Travel Magazine

Business Travel News Electronic Publication of the Year – ABTN

Business Travel Publication of the Year – Buying Business Travel



Press Gazette's must-read weekly newsletter featuring interviews, data, insight and investigations.


1 thought on “Business Travel Journalism Awards 2009: Full list of winners”

Comments are closed.