British Press Awards 2009: Follow the action online

For those who can’t make it to Grosvenor House tomorrow night for the British Press Awards, Press Gazette will be pulling out all the stops to provide unrivalled online coverage.

On the night, we will be revealing the winners minute-by-minute on a special British Press Awards blog. You can follow this on our news blog The Wire.

The winners will be announced from around 9pm onwards, culminating with the premiere awards of international journalist of the year, journalist of the year and newspaper of the year at around 10.45pm.

We will also be putting up more detailed reports with photos from the night on the main Press Gazette homepage.

And we plan to have video reports from the night up the following day on the British Press Awards microsite – with the help of our partners Silverstream TV.

It looks set to be a great night – hosted by Jon Snow, with special guest Vince Cable MP and entertainment from glamorous classical quartet Escala.

There were 540 entries representing all the UK national newspaper groups and they have been judged by more than 80 leading journalists.

Around 700 are expected to attend tomorrow night’s ceremony, making it the biggest event in Fleet Street’s social calendar.

They will be celebrating award-winning work which may not be making bumper profits, at the present anyway – but which is fuelling a readership boom the likes of which Fleet Street has never seen before, as last week’s ABCe figures show.

The 22 awards categories recognise the full range of journalistic excellence – from young journalist of the year to newspaper of the year.

And it will be fascinating to find out which of the finalists have been singled out by the judges as the best of the best.

3.15pm update:

To receive updates via Twitter – you need to follow bpa2009.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *