BPA: Daily Telegraph named newspaper of the year

The Daily Telegraph was the big winner at the 2010 British Press Awards last night collecting more prizes than any other national and being crowned newspaper of the year as the MPs expenses scandal dominated proceedings.

Will Lewis, editor-in-chief of Telegraph Media Group, was named journalist of the year, just one of six awards won by the paper for its coverage last year of the parliamentary scandal and subsequent political fallout.

“If there was ever a story that proved that news still sells newspapers I suspect this was it,” Lewis said as he collected the newspaper of the year prize.

Lewis became the first editor to win the journalist of the year prize since it was reinstated to the awards ceremony in 2008 as his paper also collected the awards for scoop of the year and campaign of the year for its coverage of the expenses scandal.

Judges praised the Telegraph’s series of revelations as “an incredible scoop, superbly executed” with “brilliant forensic teamwork”.

“The presentation of the stories, the dogged reporting and the professional handling of the material is extremely impressive,” judges said.

“It’s a story which had far-reaching consequences for parliament and the upcoming election and gave a much-needed boost to the newspaper industry.”

Judges praised Robert Winnett, the Telegraph’s deputy political editor, as he was named political reporter of the year for his leadership of the reporting team responsible for breaking the series of exclusive stories.

The Telegraph also collected the special supplement prize for The Complete Expenses Files while investigative journalist Heather Brooke was presented with a special judge’s prize for her “determined, extraordinary” campaigning under the Freedom of Information Act to make MPs’ expenses public.

In a strong evening for quality newspapers The Times collected four prizes. Peter Brookes was named cartoonist of the year and Sheera Frankel was named as young journalist of the year.

The Times’ Caitlin Moran was named columnist of the year while colleague, and former England cricket captain Mike Atherton was named sports journalist of the year.

The Sunday Times collected three awards at the ceremony held last night at London’s Grosvenor House hotel. Iain Dey was named business journalist of the year, while the paper also collected prizes for foreign reporter of the year, Marie Colvin, and interviewer of the year, Camilla Long.

Tanya Gold was named feature writer of the year for her contribution to The Guardian. The paper collected a second award as Paul Lewis was named reporter of the year with judges’ praising his tenacity “in pursuing the truth about what happened to Ian Tomlinson at the G20 Protest”.

Judges added: “His thoroughness shone through in all three of his submitted entries”.

The Daily Mail and the Mail on Sunday each collected two awards. The Mail on Sunday’s Jason Lewis collected the award for specialist journalist of the year while his paper’s glossy magazine You was awarded the supplement of the year prize for the third year in a row.

Quentin Letts was named critic of the year for the Daily Mail as colleague Andy Hooper was named sports photographer of the year.

The News of the World collected one award as Dan Wootton was named showbiz reporter of the year. The Press Association also collected one prize as Stefan Rousseau was named photographer of the year for the second year running.

The was also one award each of the Sun and the Daily Mirror. The Suntalk internet radio programme hosted by Jon Gaunt was named digital innovation of the year as the Mirror’s Andrew Penman and Nick Sommerlad collected the Cudlipp award for outstanding tabloid journalism for their series of investigations.

The prize for international journalist of the year was awarded to JS Tissainyagan, a Sri Lankan journalist, at the ceremony hosted by the Today programme’s John Humphrys.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *