Bond adds a royal touch to Regional Press Awards

Bond: started career on regionals

BBC royal correspondent Jennie Bond will host the Regional Press Awards in London next month.

Seldom off the television since the start of the Queen’s Golden Jubilee celebrations, Bond, who started her career as a reporter with the Richmond Herald, said she was delighted to be hosting the awards in a year when royal reporting was so much in the spotlight.

"Like most reporters of my generation I started off on local newspapers where I got a very solid grounding," she said.

Judges have drawn up the final shortlists from a record 774 entries and the winners will be announced at the awards lunch on Friday, 5 July at the Hilton Hotel, Park Lane.

The awards are being run in association with The National Lottery. Other sponsors include National Savings, O2, NewsCast, Lexar Media Europe, Barclays, Virgin Trains, Getmapping, Virgin Mobile, the Newspaper Society, Grey Matter and Reuters.

For table bookings please contact Selena Stratton on 020 8565 3056 or e-mail

Here is the second set of shortlists which will also be published on our website along with the shortlists for the individual categories which were published last week.

Website of the Year: This is Brighton and Hove, The Argus, Brighton; This is York, Evening Press, York;, BBC website for Devon;, Eastern Daily Press; This is Wiltshire, Wiltshire Gazette & Herald; Kent Online, Kent Messenger.

Supplement of the Year: West Country Life, Western Daily Press; Yorkshire Post Magazine, Yorkshire Post; Press & Journal’s Your Home, The Press & Journal; Nottingham Post Weekend, Nottingham Evening Post; Observer Magazine, Chichester Observer; EDP Event, Eastern Daily Press.

Business & Financial Newspaper of the Year: Business a.m.; Birmingham Post; Business Telegraph, Belfast Telegraph; Sentinel Sunday; Business Week, Western Daily Press; Business Week, Yorkshire Post.

Sports Photographer of the Year: Steve Ellis, The Star, Sheffield; Simon Parker, Ipswich Evening Star,; Sarah-Jane Nicholson, Northern Echo; Neil Medhurst, Leicester Mercury; Richard Nelmes, Coventry Evening Telegraph; Lloyd Wright, Newcastle Evening Chronicle.

Photographer of the Year: Bruce Rollinson, Yorkshire Post; Dale Martin, Birmingham Evening Mail; Richard Crease, Daily Echo, Bournemouth; Mike Urwin, Northern Echo; Ann McManus, Irish News; Bill Smyth, Irish News.

Front Page of the Year: "Enough", Eastern Daily Press; "800 Beds Blocked", Birmingham Post; "America in Flames", Yorkshire Post; "The Accused", The Argus, Brighton; "The Agony", Yorkshire Evening Post; "Death in the Dales", Craven Herald & Pioneer.

Community Campaign of the Year: "Club Safe", Bristol Evening Post; "Potteries", The Sentinel; "Stop the Rot", Sunderland Echo; "Smoke Alarms", Hull Daily Mail; "Shock Waves", Express & Echo; "Foot & Mouth", The Journal, Newcastle.

Daily/Sunday Newspaper of the Year: Sentinel Sunday; Business a.m.; Western Daily Press; Yorkshire Post; Birmingham Post; Western Morning News.

Evening Newspaper of the Year: Evening Star, Ipswich; Belfast Telegraph; Manchester Evening News; The Argus, Brighton; Bristol Evening Post; Lincolnshire Echo.

Free Newspaper of the Year: Milton Keynes Citizen; Manchester Metro; The Comet; The Wharf; London Jewish News; Camden New Journal.

Weekly Newspaper of the Year: Chester Chronicle; Lynn News; Cornish Guardian; Kent Messenger; South London Press; Wiltshire Gazette & Herald.

Philippa Kennedy

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *