BBC wins four Foreign Press Association awards

The BBC walked away with four out of nine prizes at the Foreign Press Association awards last night, with This World correspondent Olly Lambert winning journalist of the year for his report from inside one of Gaza’s biggest hospitals.

This World: The Tea Boy of Gaza – which tells the story of the Israel-Palestine conflict through the eyes of a 12-year-old boy who sells tea in a Gaza hospital – also won the award for best TV feature documentary.

Lambert spent three months filming the programme in Gaza, at a time when many journalists left due to the armed conflict and a spate of kidnappings. He gained unique access to Hamas ministers and won the trust of hospital workers.

The BBC World Service, which celebrates its 75th birthday next month, won the award for best financial story for Baghdad Billions, Mark Gregoy and David Edmonds’ investigation into what happened to the $50bn (£25bn) invested in the rebuilding of Iraq since the fall of Saddam Hussein.

BBC Radio 4 won the radio award for the Radio 4 programme: “Face the Facts: Lost in Translation”.

The ITV News exposé on the mistreatment of Chinese miners was awarded best TV news story, and Bloomberg won the award for best feature story for an investigation into slave labour in the Latin American gold and timber mines.

Sunday Times reporter Christina Lamb, who was honoured in the foreign reporter category at this year’s British Press Awards, won best print news story at the FPA awards for revealing that teachers in Zimbabwe were selling sex for food.

Best environmental story went to the Financial Times for Fiona Harvey and Stephen Fidler’s report on “The Green Gold Rush” and the high risks associated with investing in carbon offsetting intiatives.

Time magazine won the award for story of the year for Andrea Gerlin’s report on malnourishment in Bangladesh.

The awards were hosted by Danish-born broadcaster and comedian Sandi Toksvig, with awards presented by Easyjet founder Stelios and former hostage Terry Waite. The keynote speech was from environment secretary Hilary Benn.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *