BBC gains 17 RTS journalism award nominations

The BBC leads other broadcast organisations with 17 nominations as the Royal Television Society today unveiled the shortlist for its annual journalism awards.

News and current affairs shows from across the BBC’s regional, national and international output drew nominations in 12 of the 15 award categories.

Three of these nominations came as the BBC was the only news organisation nominated in the scoop of the year category.

BBC Scotland’s piece on the release of the Lockerbie Bomber will fight off competition for the scoop prize with BBC News’ coverage of Sir Fred Goodwin’s pension and BBC South West’s story on Vanessa George, the nursery school worker jailed for sexually abusing children in her care.

BBC News at Ten was nominated for news programme of the year alongside Channel 4 News and ITV News at Ten.

Despite its raft of nominations the BBC was not selected for the news channel of the year award where the nominees were Al Jazeera English, CNN International and Sky News, which collected a total of four nominations.

Channel 4 received ten nominations, this includes being shortlisted twice in the international current affairs category for Dispatches programmes Terror in Mumbai, produced by Quicksilver Media, and Pakistan’s Taliban Generation, produced by October Films.

This year the RTS prize will see the debut of the independent award to recognise the best news coverage created by an independent producer or freelancer for broadcast on TV or online.

The three nominated filmmakers for the inaugural independent award all made films for Channel 4.

They are Mehran Bozorgnia, for Afghan Life Crumbles Despite Foreign Aid; Jamal Osman for Somalia: UN World Food Programme: Theft and Corruption, and Stephen Grey for Dispatches: Afghanistan – Mission Impossible?

ITV received eight nominations in total including two in the nations and regions news coverage category where Meridian Tonight’s Justice for Hannah programme will go head to head with West Country Tonight – Remembering Harry. UTV Live Tonight is the third nominee in this category for its programme, The Ryan Report.

The awards will be presented at a gala ceremony on 24 February at the London Hilton.

Shortlisted Categories:

Camera Operator of the Year

Dai Baker – Channel 4 News ITN for Channel 4 News

Raul Gallego Abellan – Associated Press Television News APTN Global Video Wire

Fred Scott- BBC News BBC News for BBC

Current Affairs – Home

Panorama: What Happened to Baby P? BBC Current Affairs for BBC One

Stockwell ITV Studios for ITV1

Dispatches: Rape and the City Wall to Wall for Channel 4

Current Affairs – International

Dispatches: Pakistan’s Taliban Generation October Films for Channel 4

This World: Gypsy Child Thieves BBC Current Affairs for BBC Two

Dispatches: Terror in Mumbai Quicksilver Media for Channel 4

Nations and Regions Current Affairs

Inside Out South West – Vanessa George BBC South West

BBC Scotland Investigates – Inside Scotland’s Terror Cell – BBC Scotland

Spotlight – Stem Cell Tourists BBC Northern Ireland

Nations and Regions News Coverage

Meridian Tonight (South) – Justice for Hannah ITV Meridian

The West Country Tonight – Remembering Harry ITV West

UTV Live Tonight – The Ryan Report UTV

News Channel of the Year

Al Jazeera English

CNN International

Sky News

News Coverage – Home

G20 Policing ITN for Channel 4 News

Gurkha Rights BBC News for BBC

Threats and Murders BBC Newsline for BBC Northern Ireland

News Coverage – International

Pakistan: Terror’s Frontline Sky News

Operation Panther’s Claw ITN for ITV News

Iranian Election BBC News for BBC

News Programme of the Year

BBC News at Ten BBC News for BBC One

Channel 4 News (19:00 Edition) ITN for Channel 4 News

ITV News at Ten ITN for ITV News

Presenter of the Year

David Dimbleby – BBC

Julie Etchingham – ITV News ITN for ITV News

Krishnan Guru-Murthy – Channel 4 News ITN for Channel 4 News

Scoop of the Year

Release of the Lockerbie Bomber BBC Scotland

Sir Fred Goodwin’s Pension BBC News for BBC One

Vanessa George BBC South West & BBC News

Specialist Journalist

Jason Farrell – Five News Sky News Production for Five News

Joey Jones – Sky News

Paul Kenyon – Panorama BBC Current Affairs for BBC One

Television Journalist of the Year

Alex Crawford – Sky News

Ian Pannell – BBC News BBC News for BBC

Angus Walker – ITV News ITN for ITV News

The Independent Award

Mehran Bozorgnia – Afghan Life Crumbles Despite Foreign Aid Channel 4 News

Jamal Osman – Somalia: UN World Food Programme: Theft and Corruption

SMI Production for Channel 4 News

Stephen Grey – Dispatches: Afghanistan – Mission Impossible? Blakeway Productions for Channel 4

Young Journalist of the Year

Rohit Kachroo – ITV News ITN for ITV News

Tamanna Rahman – Panorama BBC Current Affairs for BBC One

Tom Rayner – Sky News

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *