As Norman Giller names his top-50 sport journalists, time is running out to cast your vote for Press Gazette list

Veteran sports writer Norman Giller has drawn up his own top-50 sports journalists list in response to the news that Press Gazette is creating a new sports top-50 to be published in the autumn edition of our news magazine Press Gazette – Journalism Quarterly.

Norman has opted for a chronological list starting with Frank Butler of the News of the World running through to Matthew Syed at The Times.

His all-time favourites are: Ian Wooldrige and Hugh McIllvanney (joint top), followed by George Whiting, Peter Wilson and Geoffrey Green.

Do you think UK news industry staff are sufficiently diverse?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

The pack leaders so far in Press Gazette’s contemporary list are: Henry Winter, Simon Barnes, Martin Samuel, David Walsh, Paul Kimmage and Des Kelly.

Voting closes at 5pm on Thursday, so to have your say cast your vote now via our quick and easy online form.

Click here to see Press Gazette’s top-50 sports journalists from 2010.



Our free daily round-up of the biggest news about the world of news

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

9 + 18 =