62 journalists and 83 bloggers in running for Orwell Prize

The list of entries for the Orwell Prize 2009 has been anounced.

62 journalists have submitted entries. The prize awards political writing in Britain that is considered to meet author George Orwell’s aim to “make political writing into art.”

Each year the prize is awarded to a journalist and a book that meets this criteria. Each journalist must submit four to six articles.

Would you pay a Spotify-style subscription of £10 a month for access to most premium consumer news websites?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Broadcast, film and internet journalism are all included in the scope of the prize.

For 2009, there is also a Special Prize for blogs, and 83 bloggers have entered.

The long-lists for all the prizes will be announced on 25 January, the shortlists on 25 March and the winner will be declared at an awards ceremony on 22 April.

Past winners of the Orwell Prize for journalism have included Timothy Garton-Ash, Polly Toynbee, Paul Foot, Matthew Paris and David Aaaronovitch.

The winner of the award in 2008 was Johann Hari at The Independent.



Our free daily round-up of the biggest news about the world of news

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

nineteen + 20 =