116 reporters make the grade to qualify as seniors

Dominic Ponsford

Some 116 reporters successfully qualified as
“seniors” by passing the October National Council for the Training of
Journalists NCE test.

The pass rate was 49 per cent, in line with recent years.

qualify as a senior news reporter candidates must prove their
excellence in four disciplines: news interview, speech, newspaper
practice and a logbook of published work.

Examinersb paid tribute
to: “The quality of work being produced by trainees and the commitment
to training in most newspaper offices.”

Some 11 journalist qualified as senior photographers passing the photo-journalism NCE.

The successful reporter candidates are:


Christopher Broom The News, Portsmouth
Joanna Davis Andover Advertiser
Peter Hawkins Dorset Echo
Zoe Hussain The Southern Daily Echo
Jeffrey Travis The News, Portsmouth
Emily Twinch Daily Echo, Bournemouth
Catherine Wallace The Southern Daily Echo


Clare Hayes Weston & Somerset Mercury


Joseph Dyer The West Briton
Rachel Foster The West Briton
Jonpaul Hedge Herald Express
Patrick Phelvin Express & Echo, Exeter
Robert Preece Evening Herald, Plymouth
Louise Vennells Western Morning News


Lyndsay Kohberg News Guardian
Matthew Legg West Cumberland Times & Star
Marie Levy Whitby Gazette
Neil Macfarlane Morpeth Herald
Neil McGrory Cumbernauld News
Leah Shaw Shields Gazette
Richard Watts Hartlepool Mail
Nicholas Whitten Shields Gazett


Kevin Barnes South London Guardian
Laura Button Eastbourne Herald
Julia Davies Crawley Observer
Saxon East South London Guardian
Rob Hustwayte The Argus
Janet Melrose The Argus
Kristoffer Mullin Maidenhead Advertiser
Miriam Wells The Argus
Steven Wrelton South London Guardian


Tim Foreman Gloucestershire Echo
Emma-Kate Lidbury Oxford Mail
Edward Mezzetti Oxford Mail
Peter Orchard The Citizen, Gloucester
Clare Semke Stratford Herald
Kevin Shoesmith Swindon Evening Advertiser
Matthew Wilkinson Oxford Mail


James Brockett Harrow Times
Clare Casey Barnsley Chronicle
Kerry Hathway Buckingham & Winslow Advertiser Group
Imogen Lillywhite Slough Observer


Alasdair Gold Herts & Essex Observer
Sally-Anne Johnson St Albans Observer
Catherine Lofthouse Bedfordshire Newspapers
Victoria Nicholls Great Yarmouth & Waveney Advertiser
Rachel Wareing Peterborough Evening Telegraph
Victoria West Hemel Hempstead Gazette


Rachael Bruce Isle of Man Newspapers
Margaret Davis Kentish Times Newspapers
Sarah Fouracre Northants Evening Telegraph
Rebecca Moran Express & Echo, Exeter


James Barton Ackrill Media Group
James Burton Grimsby Telegraph
Paul Donovan Grimsby Evening Telegraph
Lynn Eccles Batley News
Sallie George Scarborough Evening News
Emma Hakier Wakefield Express
Sophie Hazan Yorkshire Post
Sarah Kelly Ackrill Media Group
Sian Alexander Hull Daily Mail
Sophie Seddon Brighouse Echo
Lee Sobot Ackrill Media Group
Jenny Speak Craven Herald
Jemma Walton Wakefield Express


Alex Blackwell Harborough Mail
Catherine Collins Northants Evening Telegraph
Benjamin Guy Northants Evening Telegraph
Philip Hibble Rugby Advertiser
Henry Killworth Lincolnshire Echo
Nicholas McDermott The Sentinel
Natalie Murphy Nottingham Evening Post
David Old Peterborough Evening Telegraph
Stephanie Weaver Northants Evening Telegraph
Kerry Wood Northants Evening Telegraph


Stephen Bailey Warrington Guardian
David Bartlett Preston Citizen
Elaine Bennett St. Helens Reporter
Lucy Collins North West Evening Mail
Bethan Dorsett Rochdale Observer


Gemma Berry Keighley News
Paul Collins Lancaster Guardian
Katrina McKeever Wilmslow Express Advertiser
Michelle McKenna Accrington Observer
Andrew Moores Knutsford Guardian
Nicholas Owens Lancashire Evening Post
Danielle Robinson Tameside Reporter
Ben Rossington Blackpool Gazette
Alex Scapens Stockport Express Advertiser
Andrew Taylor Lancashire Evening Telegraph
Dominic Wiggan Burnley Express


Timothy Ashton News Shopper
Sarah Halls South London Guardian
Matthew Hemley Watford Observer
Sally Henfield Richmond & Twickenham Times
Natalie Hoodless Barking & Dagenham Post
Ann Lee Hackney Gazette
Gregor McClenaghan Reading Evening Post
Francis Revel News Shopper
Haroon Siddique Highbury & Islington Express
Lucy Waterlow Watford Observer


Heather Butler Blackpool Gazette
Adam Civico Barnsley Chronicle
Camilla Nolan Nelson Leader
Timothy Paget Mansfield Chad
Robert Parsons The Sentinel
Neil Preston Grimsby Telegraph


Joanne Curran Paisley & Renfrewshire Gazette
Jennifer Fleming Falkirk Herald
Julian Peck Falkirk Herald
Kirsty Urquhart Helensburgh Advertiser
Brian Yule Motherwell Times


Kara Bradley Bromsgrove Standard
Ian Dipple Redditch Standard
Kirsty Green Walsall Advertiser
Laura Vickers Central Independent Newspapers Ltd

The successful photography candidates were:

Sharon Aris Staffordshire Newsletter
Lindsey Dickings North West Evening Mail
Mark Fear Worksop Guardian
Paul Johns Berks & Bucks Observer
Dominic Lipinski Nottingham Evening Post
Kiyoshi Ota News Team International
Mark Pearson Blackpool Gazette
Cher Permaul Gloucestershire Echo
Alex Rumford Derby Evening Telegraph
Anne-Marie Sanderson Enfield Gazette & Advertiser
Matthew Short Leicester Mercury

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *