SWA Awards: Double glory for Walsh

The Sunday Times’s David Walsh has added the Sports Writers Association’s Sports Journalist of the Year to his haul – adding to the title that he took at the British Press Awards last month.

At the SWA awards – run in association with Sport England – Walsh also won the Specialist Writer of the Year category and was highly commended as Sports Feature Writer of the Year. The top prize in that category went to Ian Chadband of the Evening Standard

The Telegraph titles had a good evening. Sports Reporter of the Year was Owen Slot from the Sunday Telegraph for the second time in four years. Mark Reason, golf correspondend of the Daily Telegraph, won Sports Story of the Year for revealing the false qualification claims of Welsh rugby international Brett Sinkinson.

Russell Cheyne of the Daily Telegraph took Sports Picture of the Year for his image of Maurice Green winning the Olympic 100 metres gold.

PA’s Toby Melville was Sports Photographer of the Year – as well as winner of the Sports News and Sports Portfolio categories.

To see some of the winning images, see this week’s Press Gazette.

By Ian Reeves

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *