Sports journalism awards shortlists

Times writer Martin Samuel has again been shortlisted as Sports Journalists Association writer of the year after winning the prize last year.

He is joined on the shortlist – voted for by national sports editors – by former England cricket captain Michael Atherton, of The Sunday Telegraph; the Daily Mail’s Paul Hayward; Oliver Holt of the Daily Mirror; The Independent’s James Lawton; and Henry Winter, football correspondent of The Daily Telegraph.

The sports journalism awards take place at The Brewery, London, on Monday (12 March). The shortlists include: Sports columnist: Patrick Collins, Mail on Sunday; Simon Barnes, The Times; Oliver Holt, Daily Mirror; Paul Hayward, Daily Mail; Frank Malley, PA Sport; Sue Mott, Daily Telegraph.

Regional writer: Christopher Bascombe, Liverpool Echo; Matthew Chambers, Evening News, Norwich; Jon Colman, News & Star, Carlisle; Doug Gillon, The Herald, Glasgow; Andrew Smith, Scotland on Sunday; Neil Farrington, Sunday Sun.

Sports news reporter: Neil Ashton, Daily Mail; Mihir Bose, Daily Telegraph; Shaun Custis, The Sun; Rob Draper, Mail on Sunday; Harry Harris, Daily Express; Adrian Warner, Evening Standard.

Sports story: Jason Burke, The Observer – Italy’s football scandal; Harry Harris, Daily Express – Wembley stadium; Stephen Jones, The Sunday Times – World Cup win ‘a disaster’; Paul Kelso, The Guardian – Zara Phillips’ New Year honour; Daniel King, Mail on Sunday – Anfield in £450m Dubai buyout.

Sports broadcaster: Clare Balding, Steve Cram, Peter Alliss, John Inverdale, Garry Richardson, Jeff Stelling.

Sports news picture: Adrian Dennis, AFP; Mike Egerton, Empics; Alex Livesey, Getty Images; Michael Regan, Action Images; John Sibley, Action Images.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

four + five =