Scottish Press Awards 2011: the winners

The Scottish Daily Mail was named newspaper of the year at the 31st Scottish Press Awards.

Journalist of the year went to Melanie Reid of The Times – Scotland, who was described by judges as ‘an inspirational performer whose writing was outstanding, raw and real life”. A year ago the columnist was paralysed in a riding accident and since then she has chronicled life dealing with her injury.

The former editor of The Press & Journal, Derek Tucker, was awarded a lifetime achievement award for his outstanding contribution to Scottish journalism.

Front Page of the Year went to The Scottish Daily Mail for its report on the closure of the M8 following heavy snow, and The Edinburgh Evening News’ work on the crisis at Edinburgh’s Sick Kids Hospital was recognised with the journalist team of the year award.

The awards are run by the Scottish Newspaper Society (SNS). The chair of the SNS editors’ committee, Scotsman editor John McLellan, said: “Some winners, like Melanie Reid, were clear cut and many others were very tough to call but I congratulate them all.”

The full list of winners are:

  • Sports Photographer of the Year Award – Robert Perry, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday
  • News Photographer of the Year – Jeff Mitchell, Getty Images
  • Cartoonist of the Year – Brian Adcock, Scotland on Sunday
  • Young Journalist of the Year – Chris Watt, Herald & Times Group
  • New Media Journalist of the Year – Beverley Lyons, Daily Record
  • Weekly Newspaper of the Year – Highland News
  • Entertainment Journalist of the Year – Brian Beacom, The Herald
  • Magazine Writer of the Year – Peter Ross, Scotland on Sunday
  • Political Journalist of the Year – Eddie Barnes, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday
  • Columnist of the Year – Melanie Reid, The Times – Scotland
  • Financial/Business Journalist of the Year – Ian McConnell, The Herald/Sunday Herald
  • Newspaper Feature Writer of the Year – Jonathan Brocklebank, Scottish Daily Mail
  • Sports Feature Writer of the Year – Tom English, Scotland on Sunday
  • Sports News Writer of the Year – Mark Guidi, Sunday Mail
  • Front Page of the Year – Going Nowhere, Scottish Daily Mail
  • Journalist Team of the Year – Crisis at the Sick Kids, Edinburgh Evening News
  • Campaign of the Year – Save RAF Lossie, The Northern Scot
  • Scoop of the Year – ‘Ambulance driver refused 999 call while on tea-break’by Donna MacAllister, The Press & Journal
  • Reporter of the Year – Mark Macaskill, The Sunday Times
  • Journalist of the Year – Melanie Reid, The Times – Scotland
  • Newspaper of the Year – The Scottish Daily Mail

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *