Scottish politician replaces Camelot boss on the PCC

Former MP and MSP John Home Robertson has joined the committee of the Press Complaints Commission replacing Camelot chief executive Dianne Thompson.

Robertson, 59, was elected to the Scottish Parliament in 1999 and was deputy minister for rural affairs.

PCC chairman Sir Christopher Meyer said: “It is essential for the integrity and success of the PCC that its board includes independent-minded lay Commissioners who will speak up for the rights of members of the public. In my view, John Home Robertson – with a long and distinguished record of serving the public – will fulfill this role admirably. I am very pleased that he is joining us.

There are 17 members of the PCC, the body which decides whether or not newspapers, magazines and their websites have breached the Editors’ Code of Practice.

They are:

  • Chairman Sir Christopher Meyer
  • Matti Alderson, chairman of the Direct Marketing Authority
  • Spencer Feeney, editor in chief of the South Wales Evening Post
  • Colleen Harris, former Director of Strategy and Communications, The Commission for Equality and Human Rights
  • Vivien Hepworth, chief executive, Grayling Political Strategy
  • Simon Irwin, editorial director, Kent Messenger Group
  • Ian MacGregor, editor, The Sunday Telegraph
  • Ian Nichol, accountant
  • Lindsay Nicholson, editorial director of National Magazine Company
  • Esther Roberton, director (non-Executive), Scottish Council for Development and Industry
  • Eve Salomon, director, Salomon Whittle Ltd
  • Simon Sapper, assistant secretary, Communication Workers’ Union
  • Derek Tucker, editor, Aberdeen Press & Journal
  • The Rt Rev John Waine KCVO
  • Tina Weaver, editor, Sunday Mirror
  • Peter Wright, editor, The Mail on Sunday
No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *