Regional ABCs: MEN tops regional web traffic table

The Manchester Evening News – which recorded an 89 per cent print circulation increase – has come top in a newly released ABC report on regional newspaper web traffic.

The website, manchestereveningnews.co.uk, had 1,127,654 monthly unique users in the second half of 2008, according to the new data released today.

Daily, the website had 58,826 unique users, still less than the paper’s 153,724 circulation.

The Western Mail’s site, www.walesonline.co.uk, had 739,956 unique users, and 34,629 a day – more than the paper, which had 33,693.

The only other regional paper to have more readers online than in print was the Liverpool Daily Post. It had 409,475 monthly unique users, with 22,022 a day – more than its print circulation of 12,910.

Today is the first time that ABC has simultaneously published regional website traffic data for 60 sites, published by GMG, Iliffe, Newsquest, Trinity Mirror, Northcliffe and Johnston Press.

Monthly unique users for major regional newspaper websites, July – December 2008:

The Scotsman – Scotsman.co.uk: 2,038,770
Manchester Evening News – manchestereveningnews.co.uk: 1,127,654
Western Mail – walesonline.co.uk: 739,956
Liverpool Echo – liverpoolecho.co.uk: 546,783
The Herald, Scotland – theherald.co.uk: 487,340
Liverpool Daily Post – liverpooldailypost.co.uk: 409,475
Birmingham Mail – birminghammail.net: 305,766
Lancashire Evening Post – lep.co.uk: 298,663
Evening Chronicle, Newcastle – chroniclelive.co.uk: 292,643
Yorkshire Post – yorkshirepost.co.uk: 287,075
Nottingham Evening Post – thisisnottingham.co.uk: 277,579
Evening Gazette, Teesside – gazettelive.co.uk: 273,500
The Argus, Sussex – theargus.co.uk: 262,307
Derby Evening Telegraph – thisisderbyshire.co.uk: 251,095
Sheffield Star – thestar.co.uk: 246,084
Evening Times, Glasgow – eveningtimes.co.uk: 244,251
Yorkshire Evening Post – yorkshireveningpost.co.uk: 244,102
Hull Daily Mail – thisishull.co.uk: 237,176
The Sentinel, Stoke – thisisthesentinel.co.uk: 229,255
Leicester Mercury – thisisleicestershire.co.uk: 222,361
Bristol Evening Post – thisisbristol.co.uk: 219,776
Telegraph & Argus, Bradford – thetelegraphandargus.co.uk: 211,287
The Northern Echo, Darlington – thenorthernecho.co.uk: 210,788
Southern Daily Echo, Southampton – dailyecho.co.uk: 209,957
Coventry Telegraph – coventryelegraph.net: 208,088
The Gazette, Blackpool – blackpoolgazette.co.uk: 202,514
Portsmouth News – Portsmouth.co.uk: 201,914
Birmingham Post – birminghampost.net: 200,877
Sunderland Echo – sunderlandecho.co.uk: 199,026
Western Morning News, Plymouth – thisisplymouth.co.uk: 195,198
Gloucestershire Echo, The Citizen – thisisgloucestershire.co.uk: 190,958
Lancashire Telegraph, Blackburn – lancashiretelegraph.co.uk: 190,508
The Journal, Newcastle – journallive.co.uk: 172,880
Sunday Herald, Scotland – sundayherald.com: 167,553
Daily Post, North Wales – dailypost.co.uk: 163,598
Peterborough Evening Telegraph – peterboroughtoday.co.uk: 162,973
South Wales Evening Post – thisissouthwales.co.uk: 156,763
Oxford Mail – oxfordmail.co.uk: 149,069
The Bolton News – theboltonnews.co.uk: 138,556
Cambridge Evening News – cambridge-news.co.uk: 137,346
The Press, York – thepress.co.uk: 131,894
Grimsby Telegraph – thisisgrimsby.co.uk: 123,065
Lincolnshire Echo – thisislincolnshire.co.uk: 122,195
Evening Courier, Halifax – halifaxcourier.co.uk: 118,081
News Shopper, Bexley, Bromley, Dartford and Gravesend, Lewisham and Greenwich – newsshopper.co.uk: 113,504
Reading Evening Post – getreading.co.uk: 109,831
Swindon Advertiser – swindonadvertiser.co.uk: 78,373
Surrey Advertiser – getsurrey.co.uk: 69,969
Scunthorpe Telegraph – thisisscunthorpe.co.uk: 67,041
Rochdale Observer – rochdaleobserver.co.uk: 47,330
Stockport Express – stockportexpress.co.uk: 40,831

Comments
No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

12 − three =

CLOSE
CLOSE