Nuts wins best launch to triumph over Zoo

Winning editors: (left to right), Burrowes, Hilton and Shulman

Nuts editor Phil Hilton triumphed over rival Paul Merrill of Zoo to win the launch of the year accolade at this year’s British Society of Editors Awards.

The BSME judges described the category as the “toughest of all”, with both magazines being launched head to head as the first men’s weeklies last January.

Hilton said: “The world has enjoyed watching this battle, it’s been so tight and contested so fiercely that this is the most satisfying award I have won.

It should have been in the Olympics.

“I think what helped us win over Zoo is that we have maintained a more witty, intelligent, sophisticated tone” Nuts was praised for its “funny and hugely inventive” editorial approach.

Vogue’s Alexandra Shulman was named Editor’s Editor of the Year.

Shulman has edited Vogue for 13 years and is one of the magazine’s longest standing editors.

She said: “The best thing about Vogue has been its originality. Most magazines are becoming more formulaic but we are always generating original work.”

Tim Burrowes won the award for business and professional weekly magazine for his work over the last year revamping Media Week.

He said: “It’s always slightly weird picking up these awards because you are picking them up on the back of everyone else’s work.

“We have made so many changes in the past 12 months – it’s a once in a lifetime chance for an editor to start everything from a fresh slate. It also goes to show that if you invest in good editorial then you get the commercial rewards.”

Other winners were: Business and Professional (non-weekly): Matthew Gwyther, Management Today .

Contract (business readership): Tim Hulse, Business Life. Contract (consumer readership): Michael Jacovides, Carlos .

Entertainment: Colin Kennedy, Empire .

General interest and current affairs: Emma Soames, Saga . Lifestyle: Adam Pasco, BBC Gardeners’ World. Men’s: Dylan Jones, GQ.

Newspaper magazines: Gillian de Bono, FT How to Spend It . Specialist interest: Liz Savage, Condé Nast Brides . Women’s (non-weekly): Jane Bruton, Eve . Women’s (Weekly): Jane Johnson, Closer . Youth & Children’s magazines, comics or fanzines: Claire Irvin, Elle Girl . Magazine website: Abigail Chisman,

The Innovation award went to Catherine Monk, for Build It’s TV show, House Race and the Fiona MacPherson new editor award went to Men’s Health editor Morgan Rees. The Mark Boxer awards went to Ian Birch, former editorial director of Emap Entertainment and Emap Elan.


By Sarah Lagan

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *